top of page

Trade Review: Another 364 Chicago Cubs Cards Courtesy of a Twitter Trade

Check off another succesful Twitter trade. The baseball card community on Twitter has been tremendous and will be an asset to collect one million Cubs cards.

Andrew Armstrong reached out for a trade and we agreed upon a swap of roughly 400 cards. I sent off a box of Detroit Tigers and a handful of Alex Bergman cards. The robust Cubs return featured 364 cards.

Andrew sent me some Javy Baez love. Baez has been my favorite Cubs player since shortly after the franchise drafted him in 2011. I was able to catch him in action in Low-A Peoria in 2012 when I was employed by the Peoria Chiefs. Nine total Baez cards are in this package including four 2016 Topps Future Stars, two 2015 Allen & Ginter rookie cards, two 2017 Topps Chrome, and a 2017 Donruss Optic.

Let's get the Ryno Count out of the way for @cardsfromattic.

Ryno Count: 12

At least a couple of these Sandberg's are new to the collection. The 1993 Topps pictured is actually a 2016 Topps Berger's Best insert. The 2015 Panini is also a new addition.

Andrew's trade package was mixed brilliantly with cards dating back to 1977. It was a balanced mixture of all eras to the present.

Some of the older 1970's cards were of players that were at this past weekend's Cubs Convention.

Ray Burris also was a guest speaker at Thursday's Club 400 event with Bill Buckner. Here's a 1979 Topps Burris.

From the same era is Paul Reuschel. As previously mentioned I am a big Reuschel brothers fan of Paul and Rick. Paul signed a baseball for me in addition to a vintage black and white 8x10 photo on Saturday. This is Paul's 1977 Topps and 1978 Topps.

One player I didn't get to meet was Larry Biitner, and I saw him multiple times. Biitner was signing in both the lobby and hotel bar and I failed to get a signed ball of Biitner that still eludes my collection. Here's a 1980 Topps Larry Biitner.

From old to new, this box of Cubs also had several newer inserts that are needed. I do need to track down several missing cards from the 2016 Topps 100 Years of Wrigley subset. Five more cards scratched from my want list. Also, a 2016 Stadium Club Jake Arrieta ISO Metrics, 2017 Topps Chrome Addison Russell Future Stars, 2017 Bowman Chrome Addison Russell Then & Now, 2016 Topps Opening Day John Lackey Striking Distance, 2016 Bowman Chrome Ian Happ Scout's Top 100, and a 70th Anniversary Bowman Buyback Jose Guzman.

Back to the 1980's with a Lee Smith 1982 Topps rookie card.

A rare new addition from the 1980's in this 1983 Fleer Stickers Larry Bowa.

And finally, a junk era addition. I didn't realize this card existed. It's a 1992 Classic Chuck McElroy. It's a nice, clean card. Normally I don't like white borders or a lot of white space, but it works with this card using the large action photo and the 1992 Classic with red white and blue at top is a nice touch.

Thanks for the trade, Andrew! Another trade that filled many needs and added cards to my forthcoming player collections.

Please reach out if you want to trade me your Cubs cards. I am still behind on trade reviews, so continue to watch for the daily.

bottom of page