top of page

Steve Trout Pizza Party and a Stack of Scott Sanderson

As I catch up on trade reviews, tonight's review came via a Twitter trade more than a week ago. This one was brokered by Tony Burbs (@rosterjenga) as he tweeted at me that @mjpmke was looking to unload about 800 Cubs cards.

Matthew and I began exchanging direct messages and a trade was set. I sent over a box full of Topps needs for his 1978, 1979, 1982, 1983, 1984, and 1985 set builds.

In return I received 813 Cubs cards with a few new additions. First, he shipped the package in an original 1989 Topps set box. This was the set that propelled me from casual kid collector to obsessed kid collector that never let it go.

Kerry Wood checked in with a few copies of this 1996 All Sport Plus. This is a new addition to the collection.

Another new rookie oddball addition was a 2000 Royal Rookies Julio Zuleta.

This 1988 Fleer looks like an assuming common from the junk wax era. Well, it is. Kind of. It's actually a 1988 Fleer Glossy Paul Noce.

While it may not be new to my collection, I was unfamiliar with this 2008 Topps Gerald Perry. I had largely left the hobby by 2008 and didn't realize hitting coaches were given cards.

Some gold here in the form of Miguel Montero. This 2015 Topps Update Gold is numbered 300/2015.

One of my favorite Cubs baseball cards of all time is next. Sharon Dunston was a childhood favorite and this 1985 Topps #1 Draft Pick was always sought after. This is just a beautiful card all around.

Scott Sanderson was one of my favorites in the 1980's. Unfortunately, I missed Scott this year at the Cubs Convention, but did get to meet him and talk with him for a few minutes at last year's Woody's Winter Warmup. There are 22 Sanderson cards in this box.

Speaking of Cubs Convention. A select group of about three were lucky enough to receive a personal pizza party with Steve Trout near the hotel bar this year.

Friends that I had met over the weekend happened to be at the right place at the right time when "Rainbow" offered to buy pizza. With me tagging along, the four of us enjoyed Aurelio's Pizza.

And I landed a Trout here. 1987 Donruss #201.

Finally, here's today's Ryno Count: 16

Nothing new here, but more volume for my Sandberg collection.

bottom of page