top of page

Latest Trade Nets 155 Cubs Cards With More Ryno's and Some 1970's

Another Twitter trade is in the books. This latest deal was with Kevin, @soldoutscandal.

Our deal swapped 155 San Diego Padres cards for 155 Cubs cards.

My package came on Monday and included 10 Ryne Sandberg cards for the "Ryno Count." All of them are duplicates in my collection, but I do have a limited number of the 1990 Fleer Baseball MVP.

The story of Steve Macko is a sad one. Macko was drafted in the fifth round of the 1977 Major League Baseball draft. He excelled in the minor leagues and earned a big league call up on August 17, 1979.

His career lasted a little less than a calendar year appearing in 25 games. In August 1980, he collided with Bill Madlock during a game suffering a bad bruise. Soon after it was discovered he had testicular cancer. Sadly, Macko passed away a little more than a year later in November 1981 at the age of 27.

There were four cards from the 1978 Topps set: Woodie Fryman, Larry Biitner, Mike Krukow, and Ivan DeJesus. This set is a classic. I love the design. It was one of the first "vintage" sets I saw as a young collector. My neighbor had a few commons he gave me. Even though those cards were only 10 years old at the time they seemed ancient to me.

As much as I loved the 1978 Topps design, I despised the 1979 Topps design. It looked so familiar to the 1976 Topps set. However, looking back we were spoiled with original design by Topps. I've been disappointed over the last decade with each Topps set.

Finally, there was one new addition to my collection in this box. It's a 2017 Donruss Kyle Hendricks. I am hot and cold on the new Donruss releases. Really like the throwback design here, but the non-logo is a definite turnoff.

As always, another fantastic trade. Thanks, Kevin.

bottom of page