top of page

Quality Trade Brings in a Certified Chicago Cubs Autograph

Most of the trades for the One Million Cubs Project will be quantity. Obviously, nearing just, "just," 100,00 Cubs cards there is a long way to go to reach a million. So, those large bulk trades are needed in volume. Note: currently there are three 1,000-plus card swaps either in transit or in the coming days.

This is my first low-volume, quality Cubs trade. I will admit most of my higher end five dollars and go cards are saved for eBay and selling to build up that PayPal account, but @hodag94 tweeted a nice Cubs autograph and I happened to have exactly what he was looking for.

Up for grabs was a 2011 Topps Heritage Starlin Castro certified autograph. First, this set designed after the 1962 Topps set is beautiful. It was the original wood grain, more classic than 1987 Topps.

Kevin, a.k.a. @hodag94, was after early Andre Dawson cards. As a Cubs fan, I had kept a stockpile of Dawson cards even though he was with the Expos from 1977 to 1986. So, a deal was made. I sent Kevin a 1977 Topps Andre Dawson Rookie and a 1978 Topps Dawson second year card.

There were some extras attached to the Castro. Make it a "Ryno Count" of one. A surprise Sandberg appeared in the form of this 2002 Topps Archives Reserve, a new addition to my collection.

Another Archives came, too. This one a 2016 Archives Topps 65th Anniversary Billy Williams. It's a reprint of Williams' 1961 Topps rookie card. Also a new card in my collection.

Finally, a couple 2017 Topps cards of Addison Russell and Jon Lester.

A great trade and I'll be keeping this Castro in the screw down slab and display on one of my Cubs shelves.

Thanks, Kevin for the A+ trade.

bottom of page