top of page

The Tale of James Russell's Pants - A Chicago Cubs Trade Review

Another mailday brought two packages to my door. One small trade and one large trade. We will start small here with a trade that was drafted through email with Matt in Michigan.

Matt sent 56 Cubs cards my way in exchange for 56 Detroit Tigers cards.

The highlight here is my guy Javier Baez. Included was a 2016 Topps Future Stars Baez.

More Ryne Sandberg's were added to the player collection. Five Ryno's in total including one new addition in the 2014 Topps Upper Class Insert.

If you're wondering what the article title is all about, here's the story. One of my favorite parts of the Cubs Convention is going through the Authentics store that sells game used memorabilia. Everything from bases (I own a NLCS Game 4 base), to bats, balls, hats, cleats, and starting lineups. And pants.

During my first Convention I picked up several low end game used items. One of which was a pair of James Russell game used Throwback pants. The powder blue 1970s pants. Love those powder blue uniforms.

My girlfriend (now wife) was less than impressed with this purchase. Mainly because I fight her at every turn when we are at Nordstrom, but here I am buying another man's pants. She shot down my idea of buying a mannequin and outfitting it with game used Cubs gear, but she did pin and frame my Russell pants.

Switching gears back to baseball cards, here's another new one. This is a 2014 Topps red Parallel of Nate Schierholtz. Remember when he was one of the better players on the Cubs roster?! Blech!

Finally, another new add for the 2016 Topps 100 Years of Wrigley set. Here's card number WRIG-27 of Billy Williams.

Thanks for the trade, Matt. Your Tigers are on the way.

bottom of page