top of page

Reviewing 2018 Topps Chicago Cubs

2018 Topps series one was released this past Wednesday. Normally, I grab three or four blasters of series one and call it a year on the product. 

Not so this year. First, the Wal-Mart only Kris Bryant Highlights set grabbed my attention. Second, the hobby has become fun again for me, and grabbing a hobby box from my local card shop (LCS) is more meaningful when you're not comparing LCS  prices to online prices. 

Initially, I planned on buying a few retail blasters to collect the Bryant cards. But on Thursday, I decided to visit my LCS and pick up a jumbo hobby box. 

When you buy a jumbo hobby box, you receive two silver packs. In my first pack was a Cub...Ian Happ.

Three inserts were pulled. The Superstar Sensations is a beautiful Insert set. Not a big fan of the MLB Awards set. 

I love the Javier Baez card, because....Javier Baez. Not typically a fan of horizontal cards, but the Ian Happ future stars is a beauty. And much like every year, there is a group of players in series one that will not play for the Cubs, or it's not likely. For 2018, it is John Lackey, Alex Avila, and Koji Uehara.

Overall, my hobby box produced some awesome hits: Rafael Devers silver pack /50, Cody Bellinger super short print, and Harrison Bader autograph. However, there were only 17 Cubs cards in the entire jumbo hobby box (of 500 cards). 

Then I grabbed two retail blasters. Lo and behold, there were 16 Cubs cards out of the blasters (202 cards). Of course, the Kris Bryant Highlights cards produced eight of those 16. And I love this set, as I expected. 

I pulled four Bryant highlights in two hanger boxes. 

There were a total of 12 Cubs cards in the hanger boxes (144 cards), including a couple more inserts of Bryant and Happ.

So, here's the breakdown of Cubs cards by jumbo hobby box, blasters, and hanger boxes.

Jumbo Hobby - 3.4%

Blaster Boxes - 7.9%

Hanger Boxes - 8.3%


bottom of page