top of page

One Million Cubs Project Gets Some Newspaper Ink Plus Some All Time Favorites In The Mail

The One Million Cubs Project is gaining some more publicity. After appearing on the Preserve the Hobby podcast two weeks ago, the project was written up on Sunday in the Ponca City News (Ponca City, Oklahoma). 

Sharon, who wrote the article, has now contributed to the project twice now. Today, she sent a package of Cubs plus some Pittsburgh Steelers and New England Patriots (I have run out from other trades) for Atlanta Braves. Her Cubs package included some all time favorites like the 1989 Topps Ryne Sandberg all star card and the 1985 Topps Shawon Dunston rookie. The Dunston would definitely make my Top Ten favorite Cubs cards. 

Back to 1989 Topps. This was the set that began my Chicago Cubs baseball card infatuation, and Mark from Memphis, Tennessee sent over a stack.

Mark also added a new 2018 Topps Kris Bryant highlights Insert card. 

This Ryne Sandberg may be a new addition to the collection. It doesn't ring a bell in my mind.

Jody Davis was one of the most popular Cubs of the 1980's. His rookie year was also my rookie year as a human (1982). 

And speaking of rookies, I thought the Cubs were set with these two guys: Corey Patterson and Roosevelt Brown. I was wrong.

Today's mailday added 129 cards to the project, which recently surpassed 101,000. 


bottom of page