top of page

Reviewing the 1989 Marathon Oil Cubs Oddball Set

Earlier this week I reviewed the 1990 Marathon Oil Chicago Cubs set. It was part of two sets that I purchased on eBay. After submitting a best offer, I was countered by the seller giving me a small discount and saying it was the lowest he could go on the multiple sets. I was unaware it was for ALL the sets pictured in the listings. Score! The 1989 listing had two sets. All six sets were still sealed. I opened one of each and will keep the other sets sealed.

The 1990 set just screamed 90's as I posted about in the blog post for that set. And the 1989 set design screams 1980's. It's amazing that in one year, at least in my eyes, the two sets each define its own decade.

At first glance I didn't like the smaller pictures. However, taking the entire card in I  came to appreciate it with the diamond as a backdrop. The white border and Chicago logo at top was a 1980's Cubs staple. In fact, by design only I wouldn't be able to tell if this design was for 1984 or 1989.

Ryne Sandberg is shown fielding at second base at Wrigley Field.

It's nice the pitchers are fully framed and don't have their arms chopped off like the 1990 set.

Shawon Dunston looks to turn a double play against the Philadelphia Phillies. Those baby blue and maroon Phillies uniforms were great.

Mark Grace watches his hit at Wrigley.

Wrigley Field ivy is the backdrop for a fielding Domingo Ramos.

A swinging Dwight Smith during his Rookie of the Year runner up campaign.

Curt Wilkerson looking to reach base.

Steve Wilson on the mound.

Rick Sutcliffe fires a pitch.

Vance Law was one of my favorites of the late 1980's. He was a National League All Star in 1988 and also has one of baseball's nicest signatures.

A young Joe Girardi.

Scott Sanderson was another favorite of mine. If asked who my favorite Cubs of my childhood I would say Sanderson and Law before Sandberg and Grace.

The National League Rookie of the Year in 1989...Jerome Walton.

Paul Kilgus tosses a pitch.

Famous reliever Mitch Williams.

Always loved saying the name Calvin Schiraldi. 

Great front shot of Les Lancaster.

Mitch Webster joined the Cubs in 1988 after a trade from the Montreal Expos.

Lloyd McClendon watches a hit.

Damon Berryhill awaits a pitch.

Swinging Andre Dawson.

Jeff Pico in the windup. 

Mike Bielecki also has a sweet autograph.

And the coaches get a card: Larry Cox, Joe Altobelli, Chuck Cottier, Jose Martinez, and Dick Pole.


bottom of page