top of page

Mailday Monday Brings A Mix of Cubs

Monday's Mailday saw 440 more Cubs cards enter the One Million Cubs Project collection. The one-box Mailday was courtesy of Daniel from Facebook. I sent a box of Atlanta Braves in return for the Cubs.

Another 39 Ryne Sandberg cards came. Several more 1987 Topps Sandberg's were added bringing my total to somewhere north of 200 cards from that issue. Some nice Oddball Sandberg's here too.

Three more Javier Baez cards added. With his hot play I may be seeing less and less Baez in these trade packages.

Speaking of current players on a hot streak. Willson Contreras blaster another home run tonight. I needed that for my fantasy baseball matchup. Here's a 2016 Bowman rookie card.

This past weekend the Cubs faced the Rockies in Colorado. One of their stars is infielder D.J. LeMahieu. He was a former Cubs prospect and did see a handful of games as a Chicago Cub in 2011 before getting traded to Colorado. He earned a rookie card in this 2011 Bowman Chrome set.

Phil Norton didn't make the splash LeMahieu has, but did have a rookie card in the 1999 Bowman's Best set. I really like this card, and not sure if I have any in my collection. 

Both Albert Almora and Carl Edwards appeared in 2014 Bowman Draft. Here's the paper and chrome version of each player. 

And finally a serial numbered Alfonso Soriano. This 2009 Upper Deck Icons is numbered 88/125.

It's been a slow week so far as I get some trades completed as well as some cards listed in my eBay store. Coming up I will be posting about the set that brought me back to Cubs collecting (hint: it's Bowman release week), and the new Bowman will be out soon. 


bottom of page