top of page

Mega Box Mailday Tuesday and More

It was a busy day for my mailman after a three-day holiday weekend. Thinking it would be a slow mail week, the mailbox was stuffed today.

First, a large flat rate box was on my porch courtesy of Mick in Naperville, Illinois. He found a plethora of Bowman Mega Boxes last week and was kind enough to offer some up at cost plus shipping. Ten mega boxes arrived, and I had enough time to rip one open. No hits in box one. Recently, I wrote about usually opening some Topps Archives blasters in my hotel room during my first night at the state tournament. With Archives' release date pushed back, I was looking for an alternative. Well, it'll be a Mega Box rip on Thursday night in a hotel room in Peoria, Illinois.

On the trade front, Dennis in Virginia sent a beautiful vintage oddball for the collection. It's a 1953 Red Man Warren Hacker. I sent a few Gleyber Torres cards his way.

Another trade came from Daniel in Georgia that included a few hundred cards with plenty of Rizzo and Schwarber, and a Carlos Zambrano Allen & Ginter relic. And from eBay, I picked up a 2015 Topps Heritage '51 Collection PSA 10 Kris Bryant rookie card.

A non-card mailday from Crawly's Clubhouse. It's a "Team Chemistry" Javier Baez shirt - Baezium, a play on the periodic table of elements. Crawly wore the shirt to the Javier Baez event at Club 400 a couple weeks ago, and I had to have one. There are several Cubs available in this line.

I'll try to post somewhat regularly this week, though time will be short. One blog post coming up will detail some tips for new collectors, as I have corresponded with a few rookie card collectors recently and will try to answer some basic questions.


bottom of page