top of page

Playing End of the Week Catch Up

I woke up early this Friday morning to play some Cubs cards catch up. Two weeks ago I made a purchase off the Blowout Forums for about 500 Cubs star cards, rookies, parallels, autographs, and relics. You can see the hits in this video.

Along with the hits, the seller threw in a flat rate box of Cubs cards. He told me it's just junk commons. He and I have a much different opinion on what is considered a junk common.

First, though, this is the most impeccable custom flat rate box I've ever received. I'm always impressed when collectors line their own rows inside a flat rate box. But this was taken to an all new level.

Giddiness caught me as I lifted the first piece of cardboard and staring back was a small pile of eight Dylan Cease cards.

Further, there were stacks of Sandberg, Bryant, Baez, Schwarber, and the rest of the crew.

Sure, there was plenty of junk era, but this box was much, much, much more than I expected in terms of quality Cubs cards.

My total count takes a spike today as these packages have been left uncounted (and the flat rate box unopened) until today. There was no mailday on Wednesday, and just one package Thursday. In all, there was over 2,800 cards from this Blowout forums purchase.

Thursday's mailday was a sweet one. The 1984 Donruss Joe Carter rated rookie was always a white whale for me as a kid. It was always for sale for around $8, and I couldn't swing that kind of cash in the late 80's/early 90's. When I saw a slabbed autograph of this card, I felt like Wayne Campbell staring at a 1964 Excalibur Fender Stratocaster in classic white with triple single coil pickups and a whammy bar. "It will be mine. Oh yes. It will be mine."

One Million Cubs Project Update

Thursday's (8/9/2018) cards: 1

Thursday's (8/9/2018) packages: 1

Cards added to total from last week: 2,728

Weekly count: 1,936

Total count: 146,844

bottom of page