top of page

Topps New Era Cards, a David Bote Walk Off and an Earl Cunningham Autograph

Friday was quite the day. Last week my wife and I were sitting outside and she mentioned I had not gone to a Cubs game this year. Summer is winding down, and much of September will be spent in Italy. Time is running out. I've always wanted to take a day off from work and attend a 1:20 game at Wrigley Field. Most of the Cubs games I've attended have been weekend games.

There was one Friday home game left on the schedule that I could make, so I reached out to my friend Joe, and he was game. Before checking Stubhub, I reached out to some fellow Cubs fans to see if tickets were available. One season ticket holder is out of town for a wedding and sold me his for face value. Section 211 third base extended in the fourth row. A great view.

On Thursday night, Ron, reached out to me regarding Topps New Era cards. It was the first I had heard of these exclusive baseball cards sold only at select stadiums in the team stores. On a bathroom run, I hit up the team store, and there was no signage advertising these cards. I had to ask three employees before getting the low down. They did in fact have the cards and you received one pack with the purchase of both a New Era and Topps item.

I could always use a new hat. Most of the New Era hats were of the flat bill type, and I'm an old school curved bill guy. I found a blue cap I liked, and of course had to grab the 2018 Topps Cubs team set.

Normally I can hold off opening packs of cards, but these I could not. Between innings I ripped. First card was Joey Votto.

Then a Yankee...was hoping for a different Yankee other than Dellin Betances.

Johnny Cueto.

There's the Yankee I was looking for. I'll be tossing this Aaron Judge on eBay and hope to recoup some of the team store money spent.

Miguel Cabrera rounded out the base cards.

On to the inserts. I absolutely love these 1983 inserts. Nolan Ryan is a nice hit.

And so is Cal Ripken Jr.

The last card in the pack is the first card going out in the mail. Sports Antagonist/Card Economist reached out on Twitter saying he would be interested in the Rickey Henderson if pulled. Since it was a deal was set. Ben is sending me 391 Cubs cards for the Henderson. Thanks for the trade!

Back to the game. Something exciting happened. Tied, 1-1, the game went into the 10th inning. Mr. Clutch himself, the rookie David Bote launched a home run onto Waveland Avenue for a walk-off winner. As soon as the ball left his bat you knew it was gone. (I chose this image because I am in it. If you look to the left of the ball where the empty space of the tunnel is I am on the rail above in a gray Cubs jersey and baby blue hat).

I jumped up and down, screamed, and Joe and I embraced in a bro hug. My first walk-off winner! It was much better than the last exciting Cubs game moment I witnessed at Wrigley. That was when Cole Hamels no-hit the Cubs on Jorge Soler Bobblehead Day. All is forgiven, Cole.

After the game, we walked over to Hotel Zachary for a celebratory beer. It was my first gander at the new hotel, and it is very, very nice. When I returned home Friday night there was one envelope in my mailbox. As I opened it...what?!? an Earl Cunningham autograph! I've been searching years for another Cunningham auto. My first Earl auto was when he signed at the Knights of Columbus card show in Kewanee, Illinois in 1990 when he was a member of the Peoria Chiefs. That signed 1990 Score card has long been lost. Thanks, Ron!

One Million Cubs Project Stats Friday's (8/24/2018) Cards: 18 Friday's (8/24/2018) Packages: 2 Weekly Count: 83 Total Count: 149,702

bottom of page