top of page

1984 Fun Foods Pin and a Package from Kardmix

Two packages came on Thursday totaling 107 Cubs cards. Earlier in the day I was on a mission regarding a former Cubs prospect. There are two things I'm trying to track down, so stay tuned.

A plain white envelope was the lone package (or so I thought) inside my mailbox and in it was a 1984 Fun Foods pin of Gary Matthews. Somewhere last week I saw a blog post featuring Cubs Fun Foods pins. I went to eBay and found the "Sarge" for a low, low price of $1.99 shipped. Some of the other eight Cubs in the set were much higher with the lowest priced around $8 shipped. I'll hold off until I can find them for $2 or $3. The other Cubs in the set are: Ryne Sandberg, Rick Sutcliffe, Jody Davis, Ron Cey, Leon Durham, Lee Smith, Larry Bowa, and Bob Dernier.

As I was walking to my car in the driveway the mail truck pulled up and had one more package for me. It was a large bubble mailer from Azusa, California. I couldn't find any trace of a trade from this city, but a tweet asking about it netted the answer. It's from Kardmix and we had talked trade as I'll be sending some Angels his way.

Great start with some Javy Baez. And a new Ryne Sandberg from 2018 Donruss Optic. It's very shiny.

This 2013 Topps Ernie Banks is really thick.

Bowman Platinum is such an underrated product in my opinion. These two cards are from the 2014 set. There aren't too many Arodys Vizcaino Cubs cards.

Finally, two prospects that are now with the other Chicago organization. Eloy Jimenez and Dylan Cease were traded to the White Sox for Jose Quintana.

One Million Cubs Project Stats

Thursday's (10/18/2018) Cards: 107

Thursday's (10/18/2018) Packages: 2

Weekly Count: 3,546

Total Count: 172,593


bottom of page