top of page

2018 Topps Update Cubs Review

After being pushed back twice, Topps Update will finally be hitting shelves on Monday October 22. But how did I get my hands on some Thursday? 

While perusing the Blowout Forums someone posted finding some Topps Update on retail shelves at Target. After work I decided to swing by my local Target just in case. Usually the Excell distributor stocks the shelves in my area on Friday. He came early this time, and plenty of Topps Update was available. 

The Chicago Cubs have plenty of representation in this release, and let's see what I pulled. Starting with the base set, it's Tyler Chatwood. 

Jon Lester gets an All Star game card.

It's the first pack issued Cole Hamels in a Cubs uniform. A great action shot.

One card I was most looking forward to was the home run derby card of Javier Baez.

Pedro Strop gets a vertical action pitching shot.

Kyle Schwarber joined Baez in the home run derby, and nearly won it all. The home town outfielder Bryce Harper won the derby in front of his own fans.

Willson Contreras was a Cubs all star.

And the second Javier Baez card in the set. His all star card.

Mike Montgomery readies to throw a pitch with Wrigley Field ivy as the backdrop.

Brandon Morrow dealt with injuries down the stretch.

Finally, a Taylor Davis rookie card. This was the base card I was looking forward to after the two Baez cards. It's his first solo rookie shot, and the image is a beauty. I highly dislike horizontal cards, but this card looks great. Davis squares up for defense. Umpire Joe West scans the field. The Mets are strategizing their base running, and fans at Wrigley look on.

I pulled a few base variations including two rainbow foil. The first is Mike Montgomery.

The second foil is Willson Contreras.

From the front this looks like a typical Steve Cishek base card. But wait...that Topps logo in the upper right corner is different...

And the back has a different finish. It's numbered 46/99.

In the Postseason Preeminence set I pulled a Jon Lester.

And Kris Bryant.

And Anthony Rizzo.

The Cubs cards from the Legends in the Making Insert set. The first makes sense...Ian Happ.

But Yu Darvish...a Legend in the Making? I sure hope so, but doesn't quite fit here.

This Yu Darvish does fit, as he appears in the International Affair set.

Each blaster box has one bonus pack that includes a Jackie Robinson 42 manufactured patch card. Hey, I pulled an Anthony Rizzo!

And out of four blaster boxes, I pulled TWO Cubs patch cards. Kris Bryant!

Topps Update is a great set, and I'm happy to have found some early. Five hobby boxes are due to arrive Monday or possibly Tuesday.

One Million Cubs Project Stats

Weekly Count: 4,498

Total Count: 173,545


bottom of page