top of page

New Mike Bielecki and Dwight Smith Cards Added to the Cubs Collection

How many baseball card blogs have Mike Bielecki in a title? Sure, Dwight Smith was the runner-up for National League Rookie of the Year for the Cubs in 1989 (won by teammate Jerome Walton), so his name may pop up. But Mike Bielecki?

Thanks to Alex in Aiken, South Carolina for a box filled with 485 Cubs cards including the aforementioned Bielecki and Smith cards.

Before earning 2nd place ROY honors in 1989, Dwight Smith was a 1988 Triple-A All Star with the Iowa Cubs.

So was Mike Bielecki, even though he already had a big league career in his rear view mirror. Bielecki, at one time (and maybe still?) a great TTM (through the mail) autograph signer, played parts of the 1985, 1986, and 1987 seasons with the Pittsburgh Pirates.

When Alex sent me a picture on Twitter of these All Star cards I was surprised. First, I didn’t realize Bielecki was a Triple-A All Star, and second...I had no idea there was a card commemorating the occasion. Sweet!

Speaking of Rookies of the Year and All Stars....there was a few Kris Bryant (both ROY and AS in his young career) highlights cards from 2018 Topps.

For some reason I didn’t recognize this 2018 Stadium Club Willson Contreras. I’m sure I have a few of these, but I couldn’t help but admire the face smashing Contreras is applying to Trea Turner. I also love Getty Images, because it’s really easy to identify when a photo was taken on a baseball card. Unlike the junk era days when you have to scour box scores to figure out possible photo scenarios.

Another newbie for the collection. This may be a box bottom? It’s from 1987 Topps and it’s Ron Cey.

One other box arrived Thursday from a Sportlots order. I wanted to stock up on Bowman Draft base.

And I did pick up one Dylan Cease for that PC. Only one because he’s now a White Sox.

One Million Cubs Project Stats

Thursday’s (12/27/2018) Cards: 536

Thursday’s (12/27/2018) Packages: 2

Weekly Count: 8,502

Total Count: 252,310


bottom of page