top of page

Vintage, Graded, Ryno, and Roederer

Friday’s Cubs mailday was a potpourri and the widest selection of new cards for my collection. Vintage, graded, oddball, and a new Cole Roederer for my PC.

A flat rate box was sent by Dust Hobbies on  Twitter, and he added a plethora of new Cubs to my collection.

On top of the box inside was a couple oversized cards. A 1964 Topps Giant Dick Ellsworth and a 1984 Donruss Bill Buckner.

The next layer was a couple graded cards. Jon Garland was the Cubs first round draft pick in 1997, and I was very disappointed when the Cubs shipped him to the south side for Matt Karchner. Not a good deal for the Cubs. This BGS 9 Garland rookie is an awesome addition!

Here’s a reason why I just can’t break through and submit cards for grading. At first glance I see this 1987 Donruss The Rookies Rafael Palmeiro is a PSA 5. Then I look closer. How is this a 5? It looks like a 9 or 10 to me! So, this solidifies that I will not submit any cards for grading.

Denny’s has great breakfast. As I type this out, I am drooling just thinking about their banana walnut pancakes. I digress. Denny’s made a pretty sweet Ryne Sandberg card in 1996. Pretty sure I have a few of these in my collection, and now have 87 more.

A new Sandberg oddball. This is a 1990 Jumbo California Sunflower Seeds.

Another oddball I’ve never seen: Fergie Jenkins 1985 Sports Design Products.

Two Sammy Sosa relics! The one on the right is a piece of an authentic game used base from April 1, 2002 when the Cubs played the Reds. Wow!

Vintage! The box went all the way back to 1960 Topps with Dick Gernert.

This 1970 Topps #649 Jimmie Hall is a new addition.

A few 1971 Topps Cubs including Ron Santo.

Two guys I’m going to meet in a couple weeks at Club 400: Joe Pepitone and Leon Durham.

One of my all-time favorite Cubs cards. 1977 Topps Big League Brothers Rick and Paul Reuschel.

Another new Sosa card.

Mark Prior Diamond Kings From 2003 numbered 236/250.

And my second package was an eBay purchase to add to my Cole Roederer collection. This is a 2018 Bowman Draft Chrome Blue Refractor 155/402.

One Million Cubs Project Stats

Friday’s (12/28/2018) Cards: 325

Friday’s (12/28/2018) Packages: 2

Weekly Count: 8,827

Total Count: 252,635


bottom of page