top of page

New Year, New Cubs

I received a $200 EBay gift card for Christmas, and went shopping shortly thereafter. The goods are rolling in.

A large chunk was spent on a dozen ROMLBs. They are not new rather, batting practice balls. The sweet spots are clean and I’ll be using these for the upcoming Cubs Convention.

My first trade package of 2019 came courtesy of Gary in Connecticut. By the way, with the new year I’ll be closing trades and project statistics closer than last year, thanks to an idea from Miguel Sano super collector Jenny (see below).

This is my second trade with Gary, and I’ll be shipping some Yankees to the east coast. Side note: I’ve always wanted to visit the northeastern states. It’s a vacation my wife and I have discussed multiple times. I’ve never been further than Pennsylvania to the northeast (which isn’t very far northeast!). Maybe 2019 we schedule that trip.

First thought on Gary’s package. The top loaders are a huge bonus. I never buy the thick top loaders because I buy standard top loaders in bulk, and don’t use enough of the thick ones (for relics, etc.), but I do use them. So when they arrive in purchases and trades it’s always an incentive!

Some sweet new additions were inside this package. A Willson Contreras home run challenge card.

My guy! Javy Baez die-cut action from 2014 Bowman Platinum.

My first serial numbered Topps Big League card. A Kyle Schwarber numbered 82/100. Look at that beautiful green ivy in the background.

Red and flashy here. Starlin Castro Panini Prizm From 2013.

What could have been. Josh Donaldson 2007 TriStar Pro Debut.

And I’ll throw this in the collection, even though Arrieta was a Baltimore Oriole at the time. Neither Baltimore nor Orioles are named on the front so it fits my collection as a Cub.

On to the eBay purchases. Found an Aramis Ademan 2018 Bowman’s Best Autograph on the cheap.

And even a Nico Hoerner autograph from Bowman’s Best at a good price. My guess is that in the next couple weeks I can find these at lower prices because the product will be a few weeks old, and spring training is a month away, still.

Another Cole Roederer added to the collection. This is my first Roederer Elite Extra Edition serial numbered autograph. It’s 90/100.

The last package was a lot of (8) 1964 Jays Publishing photos. These are 5x7 photos with blank backs, but I will include these as “cards” for my collection. First up: a coach, Bob Kennedy.

Pitcher Dick Ellsworth.

Another Dick. It’s Bertell.

Bob Buhl.

George Altman often attends the Cubs Convention. If he’s on this year’s list I’ll be taking this to get signed.

I love some of the old school photos because of the backgrounds. This one is my favorite with the water tower behind Larry Jackson.

If only the Cubs could take this one back. The Broglio in the Brock-for-Broglio trade.

Finally, it’s not George Bailey from It’s a Wonderful Life. It’s the Cubs’ Jim Stewart.

One Million Cubs Project Stats

Wednesday’s (1/2/2019) Cards: 43

Wednesday’s (1/2/2019) Packages: 5

January’s Card Count: 43

Total Trades (2019): 1 Trade States of Origin: Connecticut


bottom of page