top of page

Eugene Emeralds Post-Christmas Sale

Minor league websites are a great place to find cheap minor league team sets. And many teams have blowout sales on old sets that can be had much cheaper than eBay or dealers that sell minor league sets.

Just after Christmas someone on Twitter turned me on to a Eugene Emeralds team store sale. It was a 50% off sale, and they had team sets!

I have picked up some other organizational team sets the past few months, but had not bought Eugene, yet. Perfect timing. I stocked my cart with two sets from 2016, 2017, and 2018.

The box arrived Friday, and they made a mistake on my order. However, it was a mistake I’ll live with because I received a 2015 set, instead of two 2018 sets. So, instead of two each from 2016, 2017, and 2018, I received one each of 2015 and 2018, and two each of the 2016 and 2017 as ordered.

This mistake made me happy because the 2015 set was needed, and it features some nice talent, like Ian Happ.

Eloy Jimenez!

And Adbert Alzolay.

The 2016 set doesn’t feature any big name prospects...except for one, and it’s a PC player: Dylan Cease.

Miguel Amaya is the top prospect in the 2017 set.

Aramis Ademan is another big name in 2017.

By 2017 and 2018 the Eugene team sets had increased to 43 cards each year. The 2016 set was 40 cards, and the 2015 release was just 36 cards.

Most of the 2018 cards are players drafted in the June 2018 draft, including first rounder Nico Hoerner.

Since 2019 is the year of organization in my project, I am still a bit undecided where the minor league sets fit within those plans. The major league cards (and the mainstream minor league issues such as Heritage Minors and Pro Debut) will be sorted alphabetically by player last name. At this time, I’ll be keeping one team set together and putting them in binders. If I have multiple sets, I may keep them sorted separately as team sets as opposed to alphabetizing. With that in mind, I’ll likely pull players who reached the major leagues and enter into those player collections.

One Million Cubs Project Stats

Friday’s (1/4/2019) Cards: 288

Friday’s (1/4/2019) Packages: 1

January Cubs Count: 699

Total Trades (2019): 2

Trade States of Origin: Connecticut, New Jersey


bottom of page