top of page

Vintage Cubs Mailday

On Saturday, I drive down to the northwest Chicago suburbs to attend the Club 400 event. Last year, in an extremely fortunate turn of events, I discovered my best friend since junior high (and best man in my wedding) lives three blocks from Club 400.

That means no driving back to Madison or finding a nearby hotel. As I made the 1 hour, 45 minute drive a pit stop was made at an area Wal-Mart to pick up a Rawlings Official Major League Baseball (ROMLB) for my buddy Dave to get signed by Joe Pepitone. Dave was unable to make the trip to Club 400.

Any trip to a Wal-Mart or Target means a visit to the baseball card area. This time my jaw dropped. Typically this time of year the baseball cards are pretty well cleared out and the section is stocked with football and basketball. Not here. It had almost every product from 2018, including some value packs of 2017 Topps Heritage for discount. I rifled through the clearance boxes and found four packs of the discounted Heritage.

They weren’t completely lacking hits, as I pulled a Cole Hamels Chrome and a Mark Huisman rediscover Topps Buyback. There might be some short prints, also, I need to check the numbers. But the hits I was looking for were Cubs. I snagged four of them.

When I returned home on Sunday one box was waiting for me. WisconsinPonch from Milwaukee sent me a box of 32 Cubs cards. Including some Leon Durham, whom I just met the night before at Club 400.

Vintage! 1953 Topps is such a classic. Here’s #39 Eddie Miksis.

Emil John Leonard is next. Or as he’s commonly known: Dutch.

And Gene Hermanski.

Also, Jerry Kindall from 1961 Topps.

A nice mix of Cubs, and I’ll be preparing some Brewers in return.

One Million Cubs Project Stats

Saturday’s (1/5/2019) Cards: 36

Saturday’s (1/5/2019) Packages: 1

January Cubs Count: 735

Total Trades (2019): 3

Trade States of Origin: Connecticut, New Jersey, Wisconsin


bottom of page