top of page

Check Out the Background: 1984 Fleer Edition

Ryan in New Jersey sent today's box of Cubs. This will be our second trade, and I'll be sending a box of junk era back for TTM purposes. It doesn't seem fair that's all he wants because he sent a really nice package.

A few refractors, including 2018 Topps Chrome Anthony Rizzo and Kyle Schwarber, and 2017 Topps Chrome Jake Arrieta.

More refractors of the Sepia variety from 2018 Topps Chrome: Willson Contreras and Addison Russell.

Love this Javier Baez insert from 2018 Topps Chrome Update. Times four!

Speaking of times four, it's four David Bote Chrome Update rookie cards.

Check out all the Kris Bryant Highlights insert cards.

Recently, I've really been scoping out the background on cards. Maybe it's because I've seen many cards over and over...but in reality I always scope out the background in pictures, and it's surprising I haven't done so with baseball cards until now. So, here we go with some 1984 Fleer observations. What I noticed about Warren Brusstar's action image is the ivy...rather lack thereof. This was obviously an early season picture judging by the lack of green. Probably an April shot.

Wanted to highlight this Jody Davis cards for two reasons. First of all, congratulations to Jody for being named the manager of the triple-A Louisville Bats. Seems like yesterday Jody was managing the Midwest League's Cubs affiliate Peoria Chiefs. Secondly, I noticed a random guy in the dugout behind Davis on this Fleer card. I wonder who it is.

And I noticed this Mike Proly card was taken at Hohokam Park. I only assume that because on the banner in the top left corner of the card reads, "Mesa," followed by something I can't decipher.

One Million Cubs Project Stats Thursday's (1/10/2019) Cards: 376 Thursday's (1/10/2019) Packages: 1 January's Cubs Count: 2,705 Total Trades: 9 Trade States of Origin: Arkansas, Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Jersey (2), New York, Texas (2), Wisconsin


bottom of page