top of page

Big Shep Mailday

The per day card average spiked on Thursday after reveiving a “Big Shep” Mailday. “Big Shep,” is host of a great trading card podcast with @ourtradingcards and @junkwaxtwins, titled About the Cards. The trio talk about hot topics in the hobby, discuss new releases, and break down the Topps Living Set each week. I suggest you subscribe to the podcast, it’s A+, and as a bonus here's their latest podcast recorded on January 16, 2019.

The medium flat rate box arrived with 2,285 Cubs cards inside, and there were some interesting additions to my collection here. First off, I’ll be heading to the Cubs Convention on Friday morning. This box was filled with Cubs that will be making appearances at this year’s event. Pictured below are among many former Cubs that will be in attendance: Jim Bullinger, Ron Coomer, Jody Davis, Andre Dawson, Ryan Dempster, Bob Dernier, Leon Durham, Kyle Farnsworth, Les Lancaster, Jon Lieber, Brian McRae, Augie Ojeda, Ryne Sandberg, Scott Sanderson, Billy Williams, and Kerry Wood.

Lee Smith will also be at the Cubs Convention this weekend. This 1988 O-Pee-Chee is a card I didn’t have before today.

For the second day in a row I receive a card from the 2002 Donruss Originals set. Here’s Corey Patterson in the 1986 Donruss design.

I have gone through several boxes that include 1994 Stadium Club, and these two cards have always been passed over. It’s hard to see, but these Larry Luebbers and Mark Parent cards are actually Cubs. The two had signed with the Cubs, but Topps didn’t have photos yet of them in their new team’s uniform.

Hee Seop Choi and Jeff Goldbach here on 1999 Just Minors. To my recollection, this pair is also new to my collection.

These 1992 Topps Major League Debut cards look semi familiar. I know I have some of these cards as the Erik Pappas, Rick Wilkins, and Gary Scott cards are definitely in my collection. I did a triple take at Yorkis Perez, and have never seen this card.

Thanks, Tim (Big Shep). I have been saving some George Brett and Garrett Hampson cards to send his way!

One Million Cubs Project Stats Thursday's (1/17/2019) Cards: 2,285 Thursday's (1/17/2019) Packages: 1 January's Cubs Count: 7,302 Total Trades: 16 Trade States of Origin: Arkansas, California (3), Connecticut, Illinois, Massachusetts (2), New Jersey (2), New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Texas (2), Wisconsin


bottom of page