top of page

Vineline Postcards From Boo in Annawan, Illinois

A surprise package showed up Wednesday with the return address a familiar name. “Boo” lives across the street from where I grew up in Annawan, Illinois. He’s a die-hard Cubs fan, and I always enjoy seeing his garage door open on a Saturday afternoon when the Cubs are on.

Boo sent some Cubs cards that include a vintage 1961 Topps Moe Drabowsky.

And a 1987 Kraft Home Plate Heroes of Jody Davis. My childhood memory is a bit foggy as far as how I began collecting cards, and opening my first pack. I do know the first cards I acquired were 1986 Topps football, but not sure how. 1988 Donruss and 1988 Topps football were the first packs I remember opening. But I also remember cutting out these Kraft cards from the side of macaroni and cheese boxes.

There were some Kerry Wood cards in here.

Boo added a note that he threw in the postcards. These are awesome, and new to my collection. I do count these in my card count, along with pocket schedules, and picture packs. These postcards were from Vineline magazine. RIP Vineline. The Cubs ended the monthly publication this past December. One batch highlights Cubs moments from past years, and this set was issued in 1994.

The other stack is from 2005 and features such Cubs as: Mark Prior, Michael Barrett, Corey Patterson, Carlos Zambrano, Aramis Ramirez, Kerry Wood, Greg Maddux, and Derrek Lee.

Carl in New Jersey sent a package of 35 cards from the 1970’s. Bill Madlock and Jose Cardenal are among my favorite 1970’s Cubs, even though I had not yet been born.

Ray Burris has become one of my all-time favorites because I have had the opportunity to hang out with him a few times over the past year. He’s a very funny and outgoing guy, and he tells a hilarious story about “having an accident” on the mound.

One Million Cubs Project Stats Wednesday's (1/23/2019) Cards: 58

Wednesday's (1/23/2019) Packages: 2 January's Cubs Count: 8,706 Total Trades/Donations: 24 Trade States of Origin: Arkansas, California (3), Connecticut (2), Illinois (3), Massachusetts (2), New Jersey (3), New York (3), North Carolina (2), Pennsylvania (2), Texas (2), Wisconsin.


bottom of page