top of page

Ten Box Monday Mailday Adds 3,200 Cubs Cards

A windfall of Cubs cards came raining down on Monday. More than 3,200 cards in ten packages arrived.

Last week I set up a P.O. Box to avoid leaving multiple packages on my doorstep, and creating a daily burden for my mailman. There were five packages in my P.O. Box and another five at my house.

The first of two eBay packages was a card I recently saw on a blog. It’s from 2009 Bowman and a Scout’s Autograph of Billy Blitzer. It was mine for a couple bucks shipped.

As soon as I saw the short print checklist for 2019 Topps I was in search of the Javier Baez short print. There were a few at some high prices ($15+ shipped), so I held off knowing I could find lower prices once the newness wore off. I ended up picking one off for $8 shipped, and I probably could have found one a little cheaper had I waited a bit longer, but it’s a cool card that will fit in nicely in my Baez collection.

The largest package came from Steve in Akron, Ohio. He sent two large boxes that each contained more than 900 Cubs cards....AND they were alphabetized by player! Wow, so awesome and much appreciated. But, there is no need for my trade partners to alphabetize Cubs for me unless you want to. Steve’s box included a few 2015 Topps Archives Javier Baez rookie cards. It’s been a while since I’ve received one of these, and I forgot how cool they look.

A new Ryne Sandberg for my collection. This is a 1987 Fleer wax box bottom C-14.

Anthony Rizzo 2018 Topps Big League nickname Insert, “Tony.” Before Big League was released I poo-pooed the idea of this product. After picking up a couple packs I really loved it, and I’ll be buying some in 2019.

Topps Heritage is a beautiful set year after year. This Fergie Jenkins Insert is sweet.

In the early 1990’s, there was a Ted Williams Card Company. The cards featured players from the early days of baseball for the most part. Similar to the Conlon Collection sets of the same era. This is a Billy Herman card from 1993.

A 1973 Topps team checklist. Each team had one of these checklist cards. I love the facsimile autographs on the front. Also, great color.

Ed in Baltimore sent a box in exchange for Orioles. His package included a large amount of vintage and oddball, many of which I didn’t already have. Two new Ryne Sandberg cards here: 1994 Leaf Slideshow and a Cartwright’s Aces card unsure of year.

Here’s a major error made by Upper Deck in its 2000 Why 3K series. It’s Cap Anson and it’s mistakenly listed as Chicago White Sox on the front. Anson played in Chicago for the White STOCKINGS. Not the same. The White Stockings later became the Cubs.

Upper Deck’s error was doubled down on the back of the card with the modern White Sox logo. C’mon, Upper Deck. How could you make this type of mistake on a Hall of Famer’s card.

Vintage Ron Santo! And I’m not sure if I had any of these three cards. I do know this is my first 1968 Topps game card.

Last week I received my first 1971 Topps Leo Durocher card. Here’s my first 1967 Topps Durocher.

Going back to 1952 with this Bowman Willard Ramsdell.

I’ve never seen these 2010 Panini Stars of the Diamond circular cards. Here are Fergie Jenkins, Hack Wilson, and Joe Tinker.

Larry Jackson led the National League in wins in 1964 with 24. Juan Marichal was second with 21 victories.

This is a really neat card of Cy Block on a 1985 Topps design. He played for the Cubs in the 1940’s. It appears to be signed by Block.

Here’s a 1985 Topps Rick Reuschel. Though, it’s not a standard 1985 Topps card. It’s slightly smaller than a standard size card. The back is a little brighter, but doesn’t appear to be any different from the backside of the regular card.

I don’t have many O-Pee-Chee cards, and this 1982 Mike Krukow is a new add.

Another box bottom, this of Ryne Sandberg from 1990 Topps.

Jeff in Eagan, MN sent a box of Cubs inside a 1989 Fleer Update box and K-Mart Superstars box.

Courtney in Ohio sent a package of Cubs and I’ll be returning some Nationals. A Kris Bryant Deckle edge.

And this Javier Baez 2018 Stadium Club Chrome. I don’t buy too much Stadium Club and didn’t realize there was chrome inserts.

Steve in New Jersey sent a couple stacks of Cubs for some Yankees cards. Ty in Seattle blew me away with this Willson Contreras Topps Triple Threads Autograph/relic. Whoah!

He also sent a Marlon Byrd 2012 Topps Golden Moments autograph.

Matt in Galesburg, Illinois sent some Peoria Chiefs autographs. I love these, and this isn’t the first time he’s sent a package like this.

The box also included a few player logo balls!

The last package was something I didn’t realize would be Cubs cards. It came from my buddy Matt from Bloomington, Illinois. I’ve known Matt for about ten years as he works for the Illinois High School Association (IHSA), and I do some work for them broadcasting the softball state finals, as well as run some stats for the basketball tournaments. I’ve even moderated the state finals press conferences. It’s a pretty sweet gig as I had a front row seat to watch Jalen Brunson square off against Jahlil Okafor. It was an epic game as Brunson set a state tournament record scoring 56 points in the game. Okafor went off for 33 points and 14 rebounds. Anyway, back to this package. Enclosed was a couple baseball cards, with art from Matt’s two sons! Caleb included a Willson Contreras card.

Keegan drew a picture of the front and back of a Kris Bryant card. Notice the back...2016 World Series!

What an awesome package from Caleb and Keegan!

One Million Cubs Project Stats Monday's (2/4/2019) Cards: 3,257 Monday's (2/4/2019) Packages: 10 January's Cubs Count: 9,343 February's Cubs Count: 4,501 Total Trades/Donations: 41 Trade States of Origin: Arkansas, California (3), Connecticut (3), Illinois (5), Maryland, Massachusetts (2), Minnesota, New Jersey (4), New York (5), North Carolina (2), Ohio (3), Pennsylvania (2), Tennessee (2), Texas (2), Washington, Wisconsin (4).


bottom of page