top of page

I Landed a 1954 Topps Ernie Banks....Reprint

Ian in Maryland sent a box of 299 Cubs cards that included a couple new to my collection. I’ll be shipping a box of Orioles his way.

The number one card on my Cubs want list is a 1954 Topps Ernie Banks rookie card. Initially, I was waiting it out for one that meets my specifications in price and grade. I do not want one that’s beat up, but not too beat up. Now, I think I may hold off to make it my millionth card or similar milestone. Until that time comes, this reprint will act as a stand in.

1991 Fleer gets a bad wrap. That awful, awful yellow border, though. It’s so ugly. But it was released at the height of my baseball card love. I remember getting the Cubs 1991 Fleer team set for my ninth birthday. It brings back good memories. I guess I look at this set kinda like your annoying little brother. You torment the heck out of the kid, and really just don’t like him. But he’s your brother and you don’t let anyone else mess with him. That’s 1991 Fleer for me. I can’t stand it, but I love it because I have to.

There are so many of these 1992 Skybox Pre-Rookie cards in my collection. But, “Knight’s Castle?” I honestly don’t ever recall this card.

From the 1991 pre-rookie set is an Iowa Cubs catcher named Dan Simonds. I’m a sucker for research, so I wanted to look back on this guy and find out who he was.

Little did I know Simonds became quite a successful baseball coach serving stints as the head coach at Xavier University and University of Miami (Ohio). He’s currently the director of baseball at IMG Academy.

A card from a set I don't recognize. The front is chrome and features eight players on Old Judge and Gypsy Queen cards. One of the eight is Cap Anson.

Here's the backside. This was produced in 1995 and produced by Comic Images. A quick Google search didn't yield much information, although I did find one for sale on COMC for $3.42. Anyone have any insight behind these cards?

One Million Cubs Project Stats

Thursday's (2/21/2019) Cards: 299

Thursday's (2/21/2019) Packages: 1

January's Cubs Count: 9,343

February's Cubs Count: 6,210

Total Trades/Donations: 54

Trade States of Origin: Arkansas California (4) Connecticut (5)

Florida (2)

Georgia Illinois (5) Indiana Maryland (2) Massachusetts (2) Minnesota New Jersey (5) New York (5) North Carolina (2) Ohio (3) Pennsylvania (2) Tennessee (2) Texas (3) Washington (2) Wisconsin (6)


bottom of page