top of page

My First Topps Desert Shield

Two packages came in Friday, both via Twitter trades. Ron sent a box of 355 cards for some Dale Murphy's. Trey sent 72 Cubs cards for some vintage NBA and Don Mattingly.

Ron's box included my first-ever 1991 Topps Desert Shield card. It is the Mike Bielecki card. This is a set that I have never attempted to track down, but now I just may seek out some other cards.

Another new add to my collection is this 1986 Topps sticker Ryne Sandberg. In my opinion, these have much more eye appeal than other stickers because of the shape of the photo.

A refractor! Ian Happ has been struggling, and started the season at Triple-A Iowa. He'll be back at some point in Chicago. Here's a 2015 Bowman Draft Chrome refractor.

From one of the many food issue sets, it's a 1989 Cap 'n Crunch Andre Dawson. I hated Cap 'n Crunch. Everytime I ate it, the roof of my mouth was destroyed by the razor blade-sharp cereal. I also got sick after eating some peanut butter Cap 'n Crunch once. I'll just end that story there.

From Trey, he sent some JAVY!

The Upper Deck Masterpieces set was great. I love when art meets baseball card.

Normally I dislike non-standard sized baseball cards. But I liked these 2007 Goudey.

Another Goudey, this one from 2009 and it's the 4-in-1 featuring Kerry Wood alongside Joakim Soria, Jonathan Papelbon, and Brad Lidge.

One Million Cubs Project Stats

Friday's (4/12/2019) Cards: 427

Friday's (4/12/2019) Packages: 2

January's Cubs Count: 9,343

February's Cubs Count: 8,980

March's Cubs Count: 15,704

April's Cubs Count: 4,027

Total Trades/Donations: 97

Trade States of Origin: Arizona Alabama

Arkansas California (4) Connecticut (7)

Florida (3)

Georgia (3)

Idaho Illinois (13) Indiana (3)

Kansas

Kentucky Maryland (5) Massachusetts (3)

Michigan Minnesota (2)

New Hampshire New Jersey (6) New York (7) North Carolina (4) Ohio (4)

Oregon Pennsylvania (3)

Rhode Island

South Carolina Tennessee (4) Texas (4) Washington (2)

West Virginia Wisconsin (9)


bottom of page