top of page

Mega Hits in My 2019 Bowman Cubs Break

Aside from my retail Bowman blasters and value packs, I bought into a pick your team (Cubs, obviously) online break with Bomber Breaks. I was the high bidder on their eBay auction and paid right at $50 shipped.

I went this route because most breakers do not ship base, and since I’m a volume collector I am attracted to the breaks that ship base.

The break was live at 2 p.m., which is shortly after I usually go to lunch, so I wasn’t able to catch it live. After work, I turned it on and watched several minutes.

Twelve hobby boxes (one full case) was broken, meaning 12 autographs would be pulled. Only two Cubs, Miguel Amaya and Keegan Thompson, are on the autograph checklist. The odds were long that I would land an auto. But that happened!

I yelled out when watching the break after the Keegan Thompson Refractor Auto numbered 1/499 was pulled! This was the Keegan case. Also pulled the green chrome Refractor numbered 66/125.

And a blue paper numbered 86/499.

Since I only watched about a quarter of the break I missed out on most of the hits. That just makes my mailday more fun! The Kris Bryant Bowman Sterling Insert was pulled.

Miguel Amaya is the only Cubs prospect in the Top 100 checklist, at #81. I didn’t pull this card in any of my retail breaks.

Both Kris Bryant and Anthony Rizzo are featured in the 30th anniversary insert set in the design of that classic 1989 Bowman set.

Love the Talent Pipeline insert set. Nico Hoerner, Thomas Hatch, and Adbert Alzolay are the Cubs featured in 2019.

More Amaya. Here’s an atomic refractor.

Finally. The best for last! My mouth hit the floor when I opened my mailday and saw this....

Miguel Amaya purple Chrome Refractor Auto numbered 74/250. Wow! I was very, very, very happy with the results of this break. Not bad for fifty bucks!


bottom of page