top of page

Oddballs are Awesome

Florida! New York! Wisconsin! These three states represented Thursday’s Mailday. Shoutout Delray Beach, Fond du Lac, and Jackson Heights.

Mickey (not Mantle) in New York sent a nice assortment of about 60 Chicago Cubs baseball cards.

Chris in Delray Beach, Florida sent a sweet package that included a couple stickers for Rocco’s Tacos. While I’ve never been, my wife is a big fan, and I have added it to a must stop this winter when we head to that area. By the way, Kilwin’s ice cream in Delray is AMAZING.

There’s so much I love about this 2000 Topps Tek Corey Patterson card. The Cubs logo repeated at the top, the Wrigley ivy in the middle behind a fielding Patterson, and the Topps Tek logo at the bottom all blending on the front. Plus, it has that clear stock. I don’t really like new Topps Tek, but I love the “old” stuff. Kind of similar to my feelings about Topps Total, Topps Gold Label, etc. Almost a “get off lawn” attitude, I guess.

On the same page as throwbacks, here’s a Bowman Heritage. When will we see its resurgence? Here’s a 2002 Bowman Heritage Chrome Refractor Alex Gonzalez numbered 28/350.

From that same era is a 2002 Upper Deck Diamond Connection Ben Christensen rookie card.

Oddballs are awesome! Baseball Cards Magazine was a publication similar to Beckett and Tuff Stuff in the 1980’s and early 1990’s. It had baseball cards intact inside that you cut out. Chris sent some including Jerome Walton, Dwight Smith, and Mitch Williams. By the way, I have a bunch of these cards (non-Cubs) that I will trade.

The final package came from right here in Wisconsin. It included some oddballs I not only had, but had never heard of. At first I didn’t recognize this small 1992 Donruss Lance Dickson. But when I turned it over I realized it was from Cracker Jacks and I remember these. Not sure I have any Cubs in my collection before now.

Another mystery was a pack of Cubs card in sealed plastic. It’s from 2006 Upper Deck and has American Family Insurance in the upper right corner. I’m going to leave this sealed. Derrek Lee is on the front and Henry Blanco on the back.

Finally, another card in sealed plastic. This came from 2007 Bowman Heritage and is Alfonso Soriano. It’s some type of box topper. Really cool.

One Million Cubs Project Stats

Thursday's (5/23/2019) Cards: 699

Thursday's (5/23/2019) Packages: 3

January's Cubs Count: 9,343

February's Cubs Count: 8,980

March's Cubs Count: 15,704

April's Cubs Count: 11,651

May's Cubs Count: 5,531

Total Trades/Donations: 133

Trade States of Origin: Arizona Alabama (2)

Arkansas California (10)

Colorado Connecticut (8)

Florida (8)

Georgia (3)

Idaho (2) Illinois (13) Indiana (3)

Kansas

Kentucky Maryland (6) Massachusetts (4)

Michigan Minnesota (2)

Missouri

New Hampshire New Jersey (10) New York (11) North Carolina (4) Ohio (6)

Oregon (2) Pennsylvania (3)

Rhode Island

South Carolina Tennessee (4) Texas (4)

Virginia Washington (4)

West Virginia (2) Wisconsin (10)

Countries of Origin

Korea (1)


bottom of page