top of page

Cubs Oddball Shower from Michigan Matt

Another shower of Cubs baseball cards fell upon my collection on Monday. It also marked the night of my documentary debut on Fox Sports 1’s 100,000 Cameras.

The two-time Emmy award winning series followed the Cubs/Cardinals rivalry at the opening series last month. The crew reached out to me to provide some video, much of it was used. I’ll be posting some highlights later.

Matthew in Michigan sent me a big box of Cubs goodies. He had told me he was sending me the 1988 Donruss Cubs Team Collection book.

This is really cool. Topps also has one, but I didn’t have the Donruss version.

Some of the cards inside were not featured in the regular set, so this is an update of sorts and the number on the back reads “NEW.”

But wait, even more oddballs. An unopened pack of four cards from Starline. Mark Grace is the top card, and I didn’t realize these were from Long John Silver’s.

More Mark Grace oddballs. Here are some Broder cards.

Another new addition here is an Andre Dawson magnet.

And a Sports America Club unopened pack of (15) Chicago Cubs cards from 1987 Topps. Ryne Sandberg featured on the front!

Even some vintage made it into the box like a 1963 Topps and 1964 Topps Larry Jackson and a 1965 Topps Cubs team card.

I don’t believe I had this Javier Baez card in my collection. This is 2014 PCL Top Prospects card with Baez on the Iowa Cubs.

A new Brooks Kieschnick autograph! It’s from 1997 Bowman.

Greg in Oregon sent another box my way that included a stack of 1975 Topps Cubs cards. I asked Twitter followers if they loved or hated the bright colored borders and a large majority is in love with this set.

While I have about 75 of the Francisco Arica 2019 Bowman rookies, here’s my first Gypsy Queen rookie.

Another new addition from Bowman. It’s a 1992 Bowman Gold Pete Castellano.

How about this?!? Javier Baez relic from 2019 Donruss.

Finally, a Kris Bryant relic with a blue pinstripe on the white swatch. This card is from 2019 Topps.

Chris from Staten Island sent a pile of Cubs including that cool Ryne Sandberg card from 1991 Fleer.

A box also came from Progress Printing in North Carolina with a stack of Cubs cards.

Finally, my fifth package was an eBay purchase. Recently, I acquired a stack of Bowman color of Carson Sands via trade, so I went out searching for other Sands and found this 2011 Bowman Draft printing plate.

One Million Cubs Project Stats

Monday's (6/3/2019) Cards: 1,248

Monday's (6/3/2019) Packages: 5

January's Cubs Count: 9,343

February's Cubs Count: 8,980

March's Cubs Count: 15,704

April's Cubs Count: 11,651

May's Cubs Count: 7,273

June's Cubs Count: 2,057

Total Trades/Donations: 147

Trade States of Origin: Arizona Alabama (2)

Arkansas California (10)

Colorado (2) Connecticut (8)

Florida (8)

Georgia (3)

Idaho (2) Illinois (14) Indiana (4)

Kansas

Kentucky (2) Maryland (7) Massachusetts (4)

Michigan Minnesota (2)

Missouri (2)

Nebraska

New Hampshire New Jersey (10) New York (11) North Carolina (4) Ohio (6)

Oregon (2) Pennsylvania (4)

Rhode Island

South Carolina Tennessee (4) Texas (5)

Virginia (2) Washington (4)

West Virginia (2) Wisconsin (10)

Countries of Origin

Korea (1)


bottom of page