top of page

Another Oddball Mailday from Gypsy Oak and a Sports Talk Host

More great mail arrived on Tuesday. A total of three packages, and technically five came in.

One non-card package was a case for my autographed Ben Zobrist World Series baseball. I got this ball from the Zobrist event at Club 400, and a website had these cases on sale for $25-30.

The other package was from Target. MEGA BOXES! Over the weekend I was able to lock in three orders of five boxes each, and the first batch arrived Tuesday. With some time on my lunch break I busted open two boxes. If you didn’t know, I recently found 22 boxes (actually 24 - I left two on the shelf) and only pulled one autograph. And it was a non-numbered Joe Gray (sad trombone). But my first box from my online order yielded this....

Wow! That makes up for my earlier drought. The rest of my order will arrive today, and I’ll take a few boxes with me to Illinois this weekend and do some hotel breaks.

There was one other package that came that wasn’t Cubs baseball card related and a big thanks to Porter Fam Breaks in Georgia for sending me a pack of 1988 Topps football. This was the first pack of cards I remember opening as a kid. The only card I recall from that pack was Rulon Jones of the Denver Broncos. It wasn’t my first trading card (I remember being given some 1986 Topps football cards as a little guy), but it’s the first card I remember pulling from a pack.

By the way, the first baseball card I remember pulling from a pack of cards was a 1988 Donruss Roger Clemens. A radio show host sent me a package of Cubs cards new to my collection, and this may be the first Mailday in which I’ve received 100% all new cards to my collection from multiple packages and more than a dozen cards.

Todd Brommelkamp has his own sports talk show on KGYM in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. I’ve interacted with Todd quite a bit on Twitter, and didn’t realize this.

He had tweeted at me some Ballstreet cards, and I had never seen them before. They almost have that 1991 or 1992 Leaf look. Ballstreet was a publication and these cards were cutouts.

The other card is from 1993 Donruss and it’s the oversized Masters of the Game postcard. This will count as a card in my collection.

Gypsy Oak is an awesome artist, and he sent me a package of his customs last year. He added another set of micro gumball cards that includes: Frank Chance, Joe Tinker, Sammy Sosa, and Johnny Evers. These are super cool, and I love the colorized version.

Also inside were four Venezuelan stickers of Hector Rondon, Carlos Zambrano, Jose Ascanio, and Robinson Chirinos.

And this looks like a simple 2002 Topps Sammy Sosa and assuredly I have many of these in my collection....

I don’t. Because it’s not just a 2002 Topps Sammy Sosa, it’s the Japanese version.

Pretty sure this is my first Japanese Cubs card. What a Mailday!

One Million Cubs Project Stats

Tuesday's (6/4/2019) Cards: 21

Tuesday's (6/4/2019) Packages: 2

January's Cubs Count: 9,343

February's Cubs Count: 8,980

March's Cubs Count: 15,704

April's Cubs Count: 11,651

May's Cubs Count: 7,273

June's Cubs Count: 2,078

Total Trades/Donations: 149

Trade States of Origin: Arizona (2) Alabama (2)

Arkansas California (10)

Colorado (2) Connecticut (8)

Florida (8)

Georgia (3)

Idaho (2) Illinois (14) Indiana (4)

Iowa

Kansas

Kentucky (2) Maryland (7) Massachusetts (4)

Michigan Minnesota (2)

Missouri (2)

Nebraska

New Hampshire New Jersey (10) New York (11) North Carolina (4) Ohio (6)

Oregon (2) Pennsylvania (4)

Rhode Island

South Carolina Tennessee (4) Texas (5)

Virginia (2) Washington (4)

West Virginia (2) Wisconsin (10)

Countries of Origin

Korea (1)


bottom of page