top of page

Chicago Cubs Oddball Extravaganza

Some new Chicago Cubs baseball cards arrived in three packages on Wednesday, and a few are new to my collection.

Jacob in Minnesota sent over 51 Cubs cards, and in return I sent out Minnesota Twins cards. His package included a Kris Bryant insert, a Jorge Soler rookie card and a couple Stadium Club cards of Jason Heyward and Ben Zobrist.

Goalie in the Crease sent a package with one Cubs card and a Cubs hat. I had been running low on hockey cards until I started sorting the Craigslist lot I purchased in June. As I was going through a couple boxes, I found several rows of a five row box of all goalie cards. Perfect! Now, I don't even need to sort out hockey boxes to pull goalie cards.

Joel in Massachusetts sent a box with almost 900 Cubs cards inside. The medium flat rate box had three boxes inside. As I opened the first box I noticed something I had never seen before, and didn't know this Carmen Fanzone pin even existed.

That is an awesome oddball. One of my favorites! The rest of his boxes were an oddball extravaganza with several more oddballs, and some I did not have. There were two Jimmy Dean Ryne Sandberg cards from 1992 and 1993 along with a 1989 J.J. Nissen Super Stars Mark Grace.

Not an oddball, but it's a new Ryne Sandberg card. It's smaller than a standard card and is from 1997 Fleer.

I probably have this 2003 Topps Traded Andy Sisco, but not too many of these cards arrive in trade packages. Sisco brings back memories (like my recent Bobby Brownlie post), as he was drafted in the second round by the Cubs in 2001, and his first pro season in the Cubs organization was in 2002 when I really started following minor league baseball.

Another item I did know existed is from Ted Williams Card Company. Apparently the company didn't use gum (Topps), puzzles (Donruss), or team stickers (Fleer), rather these team logo punch outs.

Here's a flashy card from the mid-1990's. A 1994 Score Select Rookie Surge Steve Trachsel. It's a true rainbow all in one card.

One Million Cubs Project Stats

Wednesday's (7/17/2019) Cards: 947

Wednesday's (7/17/2019) Packages: 3

January's Cubs Count: 9,343

February's Cubs Count: 8,980

March's Cubs Count: 15,704

April's Cubs Count: 11,651

May's Cubs Count: 7,273

June's Cubs Count: 7,690

July's Cubs Count: 8,148

Total Trades/Donations: 175

Trade States of Origin: Arizona (2) Alabama (3)

Arkansas California (13)

Colorado (4) Connecticut (10)

Florida (9)

Georgia (3)

Idaho (3) Illinois (14) Indiana (4)

Iowa (2)

Kansas

Kentucky (2) Maryland (7) Massachusetts (5)

Michigan Minnesota (3)

Missouri (2)

Nebraska

Nevada

New Hampshire New Jersey (10)

New Mexico (2) New York (14) North Carolina (5) Ohio (6)

Oregon (2) Pennsylvania (4)

Rhode Island

South Carolina Tennessee (4) Texas (6)

Virginia (2) Washington (5)

West Virginia (4) Wisconsin (10)

Countries of Origin

Canada (1)

Korea (1)


bottom of page