top of page

Cubs Jenga and some Topps Living...I Mean Archives Rookies

My buddy Goalie in the Crease sent me another great box of Cubs goodies. Baseball cards and non-baseball card Cubs items.

The flat rate box included some random Cubs items including something that really stuck out. Cubs Jenga! I’m not a big gamer (board games nor video games), but Jenga is a game I do enjoy. Have you ever played giant Jenga? One of the bars across the street from my office has Giant Jenga and it’s a blast. Most of my Cubs items like this stay sealed...but I’ll probably be breaking this open for some Jenga.

There was also a Cubs logo baseball inside labeled 04, possibly for the 2004 season?

Two books were also inside. I read books in stretches. Currently, I’m in a reading phase and have dived into books on marketing (my college degree), and search engine optimization. Of course, I love Cubs books. Both books included in this package are about the 2016 World Series champions, and neither are in my Cubs library. The first is by Al Yellon from Bleed Cubbie Blue fame. This is my second book authored by Yellon. He also wrote “Cubs by the Numbers,” a great book about the history of Cubs jersey numbers.

The second book, “Believe It,” is a special commemorative book from the Chicago Sun-Times.

Some Cubs baseball cards were inside as well.

Reid in Neenah, Wisconsin sent a nice box of new Cubs baseball cards. Every time I see the 2016 Topps Archives cards from the 1953 Topps design I think they are Topps Living cards. Kyle Schwarber has a Rookie Card in this set. I really like Archives rookie cards and they are very underrated in the hobby.

This is a card I only have a few copies of: 2015 Bowman Chrome Top 100 prospects Kris Bryant.

Jake Arrieta Rainbow foil from 2015 Topps. It stinks that Arrieta has really struggled since signing with Philadelphia.

A new Albert Almora card I did not have. It’s from 2012 Panini Limited. Upon turning the card over I noticed it’s numbered 6/199.

This is a pretty cool Anthony Rizzo card from 2019 Topps.

Topps Museum is a product I do not buy, but really like the design. These cards are also very thick. Here’s a nice Kris Bryant card.

Another super thick stock card is from Topps Tribute. This Fergie Jenkins card is from the 2013 set.

Older Topps Heritage Chrome cards are mostly missing from my Cubs collection. I can scratch off this Ryan Dempster 2010 Topps Heritage Chrome numbered 1076/1961.

One Million Cubs Project Stats

Wednesday's (8/14/2019) Cards: 276

Wednesday's (8/14/2019) Packages: 2

January's Cubs Count: 9,343

February's Cubs Count: 8,980

March's Cubs Count: 15,704

April's Cubs Count: 11,651

May's Cubs Count: 7,273

June's Cubs Count: 7,690

July's Cubs Count: 10,803

August's Cubs Count: 9,357

Total Trades/Donations: 206

Trade States of Origin: Arizona (2) Alabama (3)

Arkansas California (17)

Colorado (4) Connecticut (11)

Florida (9)

Georgia (3)

Idaho (3) Illinois (17) Indiana (5)

Iowa (2)

Kansas

Kentucky (2)

Louisiana Maryland (8) Massachusetts (6)

Michigan Minnesota (3)

Mississippi

Missouri (2)

Nebraska

Nevada

New Hampshire New Jersey (11)

New Mexico (3) New York (17) North Carolina (5) Ohio (9)

Oregon (3) Pennsylvania (5)

Rhode Island

South Carolina

South Dakota Tennessee (6) Texas (6)

Vermont (2)

Virginia (2) Washington (5)

West Virginia (5) Wisconsin (12)

Countries of Origin

Canada (1)

Korea (1)


bottom of page