top of page

Pre-Europe Trip Mailday With Hits from Ernie Banks, Javy Baez, and Kris Bryant

This post is almost two weeks in the making after a trip to Amsterdam and Belgium. We flew out on Thursday August 29, and had two packages of Cubs baseball cards delivered that day, but no time to open them before catching our flight.

Last year, we spent two weeks in Italy, and I wrote a few blog posts while overseas including one article about finding baseball cards in Florence, Italy.

During this vacation, I stayed away from writing posts, but was active on social media in our downtime. Both Belgium and The Netherlands are beautiful countries. Yes, we did hit the Red Light District, and this is a night shot I captured.

Beer is king in Belgium. It’s everywhere.

When we arrived to Brussels, I was excited to see we were just in time for Belgian Beer Fest. Take a look at this menu!

As expected, Belgian Beer Fest was a very popular event.

We also visited Dinant, Belgium, which is a very small town. It’s one of the most beautiful towns I’ve visited.

Baseball cards? Did not see a single baseball card. In fact, the only trading cards I saw were soccer and Fortnite, and they were in the same store.

Not only do I have 11 packages awaiting an opening, I have the two pre-trip packages to open. Cronan Card Breaks in North Carolina sent a flat rate box with more than 200 Cubs baseball cards.

Initially, this post was going to be a different take, but I’ll use that format for a future article. Bobby from Cronan Card Breaks put together a great bunch of Cubs baseball cards. A new one for my collection is this 2019 Topps Big League Nicknames of Jason Heyward, or “J-Hey.”

I love the Topps Rainbow foil parallels, and here’s a 2019 Topps Kris Bryant.

Bright and shiny Anthony Rizzo on this 2019 Topps Chrome 1984 Insert Card.

Bowman Platinum is a beautiful baseball card. A couple of Cubs prospects in Miguel Amaya and Cole Roederer made the 2019 Bowman Platinum set.

Another new add for my collection going into the Javier Baez wing is from 2019 Panini Prizm. It’s a pink Parallel.

These Topps Gallery Heritage cards are great. This is a 2019 Topps Gallery Heritage Yu Darvish.

The 150 Years stamp on a 2019 Topps Javier Baez card.

Kerry Wood Bowman’s Best Rookie Card was such a hot baseball card when I returned to the hobby in 1998. It’s still a gorgeous card 20 years later.

The second package was a PWE from Markle’s Cards in Pennsylvania. I’m a proud supporter of PWE shipping. Check out my video on how to properly and safely ship baseball cards in a plain white envelope. By the way, Markle nailed it.

He sent a 1984 Renata Galasso Ernie Banks card. I don’t believe I have this card in my collection.

That does it for August. My next Mailday post will include my 11-package binge upon returning from Europe.

One Million Cubs Project Stats

Thursday's (8/29/2019) Cards: 235

Thursday's (8/29/2019) Packages: 2

January's Cubs Count: 9,343

February's Cubs Count: 8,980

March's Cubs Count: 15,704

April's Cubs Count: 11,651

May's Cubs Count: 7,273

June's Cubs Count: 7,690

July's Cubs Count: 10,803

August's Cubs Count: 11,929

Total Trades/Donations: 224

Trade States of Origin: Arizona (3) Alabama (4)

Arkansas California (20)

Colorado (4) Connecticut (12)

Delaware

Florida (9)

Georgia (3)

Idaho (3) Illinois (18) Indiana (5)

Iowa (2)

Kansas

Kentucky (2)

Louisiana Maryland (8) Massachusetts (7)

Michigan Minnesota (3)

Mississippi

Missouri (3)

Nebraska

Nevada

New Hampshire (2) New Jersey (11)

New Mexico (3) New York (19) North Carolina (6) Ohio (11)

Oregon (3) Pennsylvania (6)

Rhode Island

South Carolina

South Dakota Tennessee (6) Texas (7)

Vermont (2)

Virginia (2) Washington (5)

West Virginia (5) Wisconsin (12)

Countries of Origin

Canada (1)

Korea (1)


bottom of page