top of page

Nearly 2,000 Cubs Cards Delivered on Friday the 13th

Before I headed down to Rosemont on Saturday morning for the Larry Pogofsky All Star Challenge Softball Game, I wanted to get a current count of Cubs baseball cards for my Cubs Card-O-Meter.

Well, I did get an updated count from the three packages that were delivered on Friday: 342,150. However, I didn’t have enough numbers to stick on my poster board, so I opted against wearing it to the game.

Bella in Massachusetts sent a second trade package that included some Cubs goodies. Speaking of the celebrity softball game I attended, here’s a cool Collect-A-Books if Jerome Walton. I was able to meet the 1989 National League Rookie of the Year this past weekend.

Another young player I am excited about if Dylan Cease. Unfortunately, Cease is now on the other side of town with the Chicago White Sox. This is a refractor from his 2016 Bowman Chrome during his days as a Cubs prospect.

Piles of current Cubs stars were included. My favorite: Javier Baez, of course.

Albert Almora has struggled this season, but he’s been a big piece in the Cubs lineup the past couple years.

Another favorite is Kyle Schwarber. He is nearing 40 home runs on the season. That mark is making my preseason prediction of Schwarber leading the team in home runs look good.

Kris Bryant continues to play like a superstar after having his struggles.

And you can’t mention Bryant without the Rizzo. Hopefully Anthony Rizzo will be cleared to return to action soon after a scary ankle sprain last week.

Ed in Baltimore (I like to call him Oddball Eddie for his selection of oddball cards he sends) sent a second box in as many weeks. It’s a good thing I found some good Orioles (and Brooks Robinson) cards recently.

Some oddballs he sent this time include Starting Lineup cards. Ryne Sandberg and Mark Grace represented here. Starting Lineups are something I never really got into as a youth, and never really collected them later on. The reason I probably haven’t scooped any up is because I didn’t collect them as a kid so there’s no nostalgia attached.

An Upper Deck card I’ve never seen before is this Billy Williams from 1992. It’s numbered HI9.

An Ernie Banks oddball from 1984 in which he’s pictured with Willie Mays.

Finally, Steve in Tennessee sent a box of about 1,000 Cubs baseball cards. Steve and I have an ongoing Cubs for Red Sox trade and this is probably our fourth or fifth trade.

One Million Cubs Project Stats Friday's (9/13/2019) Cards: 1,869

Friday's (9/13/2019) Packages: 3

January's Cubs Count: 9,343

February's Cubs Count: 8,980

March's Cubs Count: 15,704

April's Cubs Count: 11,651

May's Cubs Count: 7,273

June's Cubs Count: 7,690

July's Cubs Count: 10,803

August's Cubs Count: 11,929

September's Cubs Count: 6,312

Total Trades/Donations: 239

Trade States of Origin: Arizona (3) Alabama (5)

Arkansas California (20)

Colorado (5) Connecticut (12)

Delaware

Florida (9)

Georgia (3)

Idaho (3) Illinois (18) Indiana (5)

Iowa (2)

Kansas

Kentucky (2)

Louisiana Maryland (10) Massachusetts (9)

Michigan Minnesota (3)

Mississippi

Missouri (3)

Nebraska

Nevada

New Hampshire (2) New Jersey (12)

New Mexico (3) New York (21) North Carolina (6) Ohio (12)

Oregon (3) Pennsylvania (6)

Rhode Island (2)

South Carolina

South Dakota Tennessee (7) Texas (7)

Utah

Vermont (3)

Virginia (2) Washington (5)

West Virginia (6) Wisconsin (12)

Countries of Origin

Canada (1)

Korea (1)


bottom of page