top of page

Vermont Sends Some Panini Chronicles and Kris Bryant

Throughout 2019 I have been tracking the states that have contributed to the One Million Cubs Project. Up until a couple months ago Vermont was a state that eluded me this year.

Then Beth in South Burlington came through with a few packages and they were filled with some awesome Cubs baseball cards.

My latest package of Cubs baseball cards arrived over the weekend from Vermont and included a bunch of new Cubs for my collection.

Topps Now is one product I have relatively few cards in my collection. The online Topps sets just are not my thing, though I am a fan of the Throwback Thursday sets. So, it’s always a plus when Topps Now cards arrive in trade packages because chances are I do not already have them. This box included a 2016 Topps Now card of Jake Arrieta, Kris Bryant, and Addison Russell highlighting the team winning its 23rd straight game. What a season!

Panini is another product that I get mostly through trades, like this 2019 Diamond King’s Javier Baez.

A bunch of Kris Bryant Panini cards. Panini Chronicles is a set that is really under appreciated. I think it's really fun, and enjoy breaking a few blaster boxes. So, when I can fill in missing Cubs cards through trades it's a plus-plus.

Javier Baez is my favorite Cubs player, and Panini Unparalled is a pretty sweet baseball card.

Look at this bad boy. Anthony Rizzo 2019 Panini Certified numbered 8/25. Wow, very nice!

Not only did Beth's package include a bunch of 2019 Cubs cards, there was some vintage. Many baseball card collectors are looking forward to the 2020 Topps Heritage set based on the 1971 Topps design, I'm really looking ahead to 2021 when the 1972 Topps design will be used. Here's the 1972 Topps Milt Pappas.

Oh, here's the 1973 Topps Milt Pappas.

And if you're wondering what design the 2023 Topps Heritage set will use, well here you go. It's a 1974 Topps Vic Harris.

But wait...there's more. Fortunately, I have sorted through so many Topps base cards over the past few years that I can recognize short prints and variations. This has helped tremendously at card shows when flipping through dime boxes. This 2019 Topps series one Kris Bryant card did not look familiar, and I assumed it was a variation. I checked the old Google machine and confirmed it is in fact a variation.

One Million Cubs Project Stats Saturday's (10/25/2019) Cards: 70

Saturday's (10/25/2019) Packages: 1

January's Cubs Count: 9,343

February's Cubs Count: 8,980

March's Cubs Count: 15,704

April's Cubs Count: 11,651

May's Cubs Count: 7,273

June's Cubs Count: 7,690

July's Cubs Count: 10,803

August's Cubs Count: 11,929

September's Cubs Count: 9,127

October's Cubs Count: 14,054

Total Trades/Donations: 275

Trade States of Origin: Arizona (4) Alabama (5)

Arkansas California (21)

Colorado (5) Connecticut (14)

Delaware (2)

Florida (11)

Georgia (3)

Idaho (3) Illinois (23) Indiana (5)

Iowa (2)

Kansas

Kentucky (2)

Louisiana Maryland (12) Massachusetts (10)

Michigan Minnesota (3)

Mississippi

Missouri (5)

Nebraska

Nevada (2)

New Hampshire (2) New Jersey (14)

New Mexico (3) New York (26) North Carolina (6)

North Dakota Ohio (17)

Oregon (3) Pennsylvania (7)

Rhode Island (2)

South Carolina (2)

South Dakota Tennessee (8) Texas (7)

Utah

Vermont (4)

Virginia (2) Washington (5)

West Virginia (7) Wisconsin (12)

Countries of Origin

Canada (1)

Korea (2)


bottom of page