top of page

Cubs Minor League Diaries: Robert Eyer

The Chicago Cubs Minor League Encyclopedia is a work in-progress that will document biographies on each player who has worn a Cubs minor league uniform. The inception of minor league teams in the Cubs organization dates back to 1922 with the Wichita Falls Spudders.

Below you will read letters to home written by Cubs minor league player Robert Eyer. Eyer is an interesting baseball prospect because at the same time he was playing Little League he was also appearing on televisions in the early 1960's.

"Bobby" Eyer had credits in a few television shows and movies. Most notably was an appearance playing a character named Kevin in an episode of Leave it to Beaver in 1962. Other credits include: U.S. Marshall (1959), The Man from Blackhawk (1959), The Dark at the Top of the Stairs (1960), and Back Street (1961).

Eyer was a good baseball player and signed with the Chicago Cubs after being selected in the 13th round of the 1966 Major League Baseball amateur draft. His first assignment in the organization was with the Treasure Valley Cubs in 1966. That franchise was based in Caldwell, Idaho, and that's the season in which the below letters were sent back to his family in California.

June 23, 1966

Dear Folks,

I just got home from the show. It was, "Boeing, Boeing," with Jerry Lewis & Tony Curtis and it was really funny. I'm sorry I couldn't tell you more about the games tonite but some of the players were right there. Well any way the 3rd game I started but at 3rd base. I didn't any grounders and was I glad. I got little pop up though. (I led off) Anyway I went 0-5 but I hit the ball o.k. The first I just hit a littler nubber back to the pitcher. The second time up a really ripped one off the fence on a fly (line shot) but was about 15 ft. foul. Then the next pitch a hit a long drive about 330 to left but it was pretty high and left fielder caught it. The third time up I hit a fast ball off the hands and hit a broken bat pop up to the shortstop. Then the fourth time the bases were loaded with 1 out. They brought in a new pitcher and on his first pitch I ripped a one hopper right at the third baseman. Anyway he stepped on third and doubled me at first. If only it had been a couple of feet either way. Oh well the last time up I hit a curve ball off the end of the bat back to the pitcher. So that is 0-5. We also lost the game 7-2.

After the next series I will write and tell you what I did. Richard asled about the guys. Well there are some nice guys here but it is rather hard because most of them have been here a couple of weeks now and it is rather hard to break in to their little groups but they are getting more friendly every day. My roommate however came in the same nbight I did and we get along great. He is from Portland. Oh yea I found out where the 5 farm teams are from. Here is their order in order of rank up. 5) Duluth, Minnesota, 4) Caldwell, Idaho, 3) Lodi, California, 2) Quincy, Illinois, 1) Tacoma, Washington. CHICAGO CUBS.

Lodi will probably be the team I would be on next year. It would be pretty good cause that is the California League. Some of the other teams are in Fresno, Stockton, and Santa Barbara. Santa Barbara would be great to play at cause that isn't far at all, maybe they are also some teams more south. All the coaches are nice but they haven't payed much attention to me yet. Well there isn't much more to say. I know I'll think of something after I mail this letter but what can I do. Oh yea, the one shortstop has already been sent up to Lodi. The other is 20 and is a real good fielder and a fair hitter but he could be sent up too. Time seems to going a little faster since the season started. But I found out the season isn't over til about September 6. Oh well. The glove is real good and the radio works real well but on the plane the little knob to work the clock fell off and I can't get it back on so I can't use the clock or the alarm but my roomate has both.


bottom of page