top of page

Another Shipping Tip - UPS and Post Office Boxes

A pile of packages came Wednesday, and I recently learned another new fact about shipping. More on that below.

Beth in Vermont has become a regular trader from the Green Mountain state of Vermont. I also learned...via Wikipedia, that Burlington, Vermont is the most populous city in the state. Follow the bouncing ball on this one...that fact makes it the least populous city in America that is the most populous city in its state. The population in the latest census lists Burlington at just over 42,000 people.

At first glance, I thought this was Sammy Sosa. Just looking at his face briefly. It’s not Sosa, rather Denny Abreu from 2000 Bowman.

There is a lot of white on the front of this card, but it works in my opinion. This is a 2003 Fleer Mark Prior.

On the flip side, this 1999 Upper Deck Ovation Kerry Wood leaves no blank space on the front. Even so, I don't think it looks too busy. I love that the front is evenly centered vertically, while the image on the right has the foil, and the left half has a plain white background with text and the image. There's a lot going on here, but it works for me.

How about this??? A 2019 Topps Chrome Update Kris Bryant refractor numbered 99/199. These refractors are super hard to pull as the odds are long. In 12 hanger packs, I pulled just one refractor (Harold Ramirez).

The copper colored background on this 2010 Topps Chrome Starlin Castro is unique. Maybe it's orange, but my eyes see copper.

A stack of 2016 Topps Update Jeimer Candelario rookie cards. Twenty-one Candelario rookie cards in all.

Paul in Lisle, Illinois sent a couple plain white envelopes (PWE). One of them included this 2019 Allen & Ginter mini black border Ian Happ.

Lincoln, Nebraska checked in with a trade with Ian. In return, I sent a box of Kansas City Royals. Yesterday was the anniversary of Jerome Walton winning the National League Rookie of the Year. Thirty years. 3-0. THIRTY. I can't come to terms with that. I'll pretend it's 1990 for a moment and admire the beauty that is this 1990 Fleer Soaring Stars Jerome Walton.

The Walton had a green background, and so does this 1999 Upper Deck Star Quest Kerry Wood.

No, this isn't a 1987 Topps Dennis Eckersley card. Can you believe Topps reprinted this??? It's from 2011 Topps Diamond Anniversary 60 Years of Topps insert set. I get the concept, but still think it's stupid. When you make a reprint of a card that is more valuable than the original...as Cris Carter would say...C'MON MAAAAN!

The next box of Cubs baseball cards came from Greg in Connecticut. A few weeks ago I learned that UPS will not deliver to a P.O. Box. That makes sense, and typically when a trade partner requests my address it's not disclosed how it will be shipped (USPS, UPS, FedEx, etc.). Probably 90-95% of the trade packages are shipped by USPS. I had an update a few weeks ago that a UPS shipment was being returned to sender because it cannot be shipped to a P.O. Box.

I asked my local postal clerk, and they explained that UPS will deliver to a post office box as long as the street address of the post office is listed. That makes perfect sense! So, if you ship UPS, please let me know. Fortunately, I had this information, and received a UPS shipping notification from Greg. I was able to relay the street address of the post office and he was able to get it added to the shipment without any issues.

Greg's box included more than 1,000 Cubs baseball cards. One design that stood out is the 2006 Topps Cooperstown. If I didn't look closely I would have guessed this was Upper Deck. I was shocked when I saw it was actually a Topps product. Oh, it's Juan Pierre by the way.

Bo Porter - 1999 Fleer. Cool name. Spelled wrong.

Ryno and Rhino. What a cool card from 2013 Panini Hometown Heroes.

Probably my favorite insert set of all time. Topps in 2016 released a 100-card set celebrating 100 years of Wrigley Field. This is a great image of Anthony Rizzo with a little Cubs fan.

I loved this 1975 SSPC set. Here's Bill Madlock.

One Million Cubs Project Stats Wednesday's (11/6/2019) Cards: 1,840

Wednesday's (11/6/2019) Packages: 4

January's Cubs Count: 9,343

February's Cubs Count: 8,980

March's Cubs Count: 15,704

April's Cubs Count: 11,651

May's Cubs Count: 7,273

June's Cubs Count: 7,690

July's Cubs Count: 10,803

August's Cubs Count: 11,929

September's Cubs Count: 9,127

October's Cubs Count: 15,675

November's Cubs Count: 2,209

Total Trades/Donations: 285

Trade States of Origin: Arizona (4) Alabama (5)

Arkansas California (21)

Colorado (5) Connecticut (16)

Delaware (2)

Florida (11)

Georgia (3)

Idaho (3) Illinois (24) Indiana (6)

Iowa (2)

Kansas

Kentucky (2)

Louisiana Maryland (12) Massachusetts (11)

Michigan Minnesota (3)

Mississippi

Missouri (5)

Nebraska (2)

Nevada (2)

New Hampshire (2) New Jersey (14)

New Mexico (3) New York (28) North Carolina (6)

North Dakota Ohio (17)

Oregon (3) Pennsylvania (8)

Rhode Island (2)

South Carolina (2)

South Dakota Tennessee (8) Texas (7)

Utah

Vermont (5)

Virginia (2) Washington (5)

West Virginia (7) Wisconsin (12)

Countries of Origin

Canada (1)

Korea (2)


bottom of page