top of page

Cubs Minor League Diaries (6/29/1966): Robert Eyer

The Chicago Cubs Minor League Encyclopedia is a work in-progress that will document biographies on each player who has worn a Cubs minor league uniform. The inception of minor league teams in the Cubs organization dates back to 1922 with the Wichita Falls Spudders.

Below you will read letters to home written by Cubs minor league player Robert Eyer. Eyer is an interesting baseball prospect because at the same time he was playing Little League he was also appearing on televisions in the early 1960's.

"Bobby" Eyer had credits in a few television shows and movies. Most notably was an appearance playing a character named Kevin in an episode of Leave it to Beaver in 1962. Other credits include: U.S. Marshall (1959), The Man from Blackhawk (1959), The Dark at the Top of the Stairs (1960), and Back Street (1961).

Eyer was a good baseball player and signed with the Chicago Cubs after being selected in the 13th round of the 1966 Major League Baseball amateur draft. His first assignment in the organization was with the Treasure Valley Cubs in 1966. That franchise was based in Caldwell, Idaho, and that's the season in which the below letters were sent back to his family in California.

June 29, 1966

Well hello again. I decided not to mail the first one so I could write a little bit more. We had practice this morning at 10:00 and I just got home. I was lucky I got a ride. Since we are living on our own now we have to get to the ball park any way we can.

This morning I had to walk. It is about 8 or 9 blocks. I really wouldn't like to walk home after a long night game at about 12. I'm going to try and get a bike or something. Well I didn't get any mail this morning but maybe I'll get some in the afternoon mail. Well there isn't much more to say but if you want to know something ask the questions in your letters cause that way I'll remenber what they are.

Bye for now and I'll write again in a few days.

P.S. A guy here knows Richard (Robert's brother, Richard Eyer) but I don't think Richard knows him. His name is Jeff Rude and is a friend of Larry Vandling. He is a real nice guy, he also ht a home run in the first game.

I just realized I had a litte more to write. For one thing I don't need but about half of the clothes I brought. I don't need any sports coats about 4 pairs of pants and about 4 shirts. All anyone wears around here are shorts and jeans. Do you think I should send a suitcase home. Here also is my home schedule. We don't end up at home either. I am trying to get some programs to send home. Oh, by the way I know I'm not starting tonite. But I'll write later and tell you about the next couple of games.


bottom of page