top of page

Fergie Jenkins Magic In This Mailday

Fergie Jenkins was the trade hit courtesy Brandon in Nebraska. This is a really sweet piece as it measures about 5x7. I have seen similar cards like this, but none nearly as cool as the Jenkins.

I've met Fergie Jenkins a few times over the years, but as I looked through my photos have never taken a picture with him. However, I did capture Fergie taking in a magic trick with magician David Boothe at Club 400 earlier this year.

Maybe it's because I'm hoarding Cubs baseball cards and you can see so many 1990 Topps before you get tired of the monotony. Before I began this project I disliked stamps, minis, box loaders, 5x7 cards, etc. Now, I love the variety. I'll have to keep my eye out for more pieces like this. Big thanks to Brandon on such a cool mailday.

Oh yeah, I mentioned 1990 Topps in the previous paragraph, so I'll have to show off this Vance Law from that set. If only to promote a previous article I wrote about Vance Law contributing some autographed Cubs baseball cards to my project.

Brandon also tossed in some football cards. These are unopened 1991 Pro Set Platinum football cards.

He actually sent four packs, but I had to open one to see what they looked like as I forgot.

Now you know what the Pro Set Platinum look like as well. In case you forgot. One more package came in this mailday and it's from Colorado. A couple of sweet 1979 Topps Cubs baseball cards of Manny Trillo and Dennis Lamp.

Recently I polled Twitter on what year collectors stopped calling cards vintage. Of course, the numbers were across the board. Personally, I'm torn, but kind of draw the line around 1975. Some collectors did use the 1979-1980 sets because Fleer and Donruss came in 1981, then the junk era arrived shortly after. A couple responses deemed 1973 a good cut off because that was the last year that Topps released cards in series. It's a good topic to debate, and depending on your age it will likely differ from those of other ages.

One Million Cubs Project Stats Saturday's (11/30/2019) Cards: 49

Saturday's (11/30/2019) Packages: 2

January's Cubs Count: 9,343

February's Cubs Count: 8,980

March's Cubs Count: 15,704

April's Cubs Count: 11,651

May's Cubs Count: 7,273

June's Cubs Count: 7,690

July's Cubs Count: 10,803

August's Cubs Count: 11,929

September's Cubs Count: 9,127

October's Cubs Count: 15,675

November's Cubs Count: 26,705

Total Trades/Donations: 310

Trade States of Origin: Arizona (6) Alabama (5)

Arkansas California (22)

Colorado (6) Connecticut (17)

Delaware (2)

Florida (11)

Georgia (3)

Idaho (3) Illinois (29) Indiana (8)

Iowa (2)

Kansas

Kentucky (2)

Louisiana Maryland (12) Massachusetts (11)

Michigan (2) Minnesota (4)

Mississippi

Missouri (5)

Nebraska (3)

Nevada (2)

New Hampshire (2) New Jersey (15)

New Mexico (4) New York (29) North Carolina (6)

North Dakota Ohio (18)

Oregon (3) Pennsylvania (9)

Rhode Island (2)

South Carolina (2)

South Dakota Tennessee (8) Texas (10)

Utah

Vermont (5)

Virginia (2) Washington (6)

Washington, DC

West Virginia (7) Wisconsin (12)

Countries of Origin

Canada (1)

Korea (2)


bottom of page