top of page

Chicago Cubs Jersey Relics And Serial Numbers In This Mailday

The year is winding down and a surprise box showed up in my mailbox from New York. Tom sends some great packages and once again some dynamite Cubs baseball cards were inside.

While Panini isn't one of my favorite products, I have to admit some of their cards are really good looking. One card in particular caught my eyes and of course it's Javier Baez. This is a Nicknames insert from 2019 Donruss. "El Mago," the magician is Javy's nickname and this card is pure fire.

I steered clear of many products this year opposed to the past couple years where I dipped my toes in the water of almost every baseball release. It's nice to do a lot of trading throughout the year and these trades allow me to fill in holes of non-traditional products. Non-traditional to me are the higher dollar products, or products that do not have a retail release as most of my wax purchases are now from the retail sector. This package had a pair of 2019 Topps Gold Label cards of Anthony Rizzo and Ryne Sandberg. These are the first Gold Label cards from 2019 in my collection.

A few serial numbered Panini cards of Jon Lester, Kyle Hendricks, and Anthony Rizzo.

The next card didn't really catch my attention until the second look. It's a Starlin Castro Cubs jersey relic. But...it's from 2019, and Castro hasn't played for the Cubs since 2015.

Another former Cubs relic and this one is from 2009 Upper Deck. Derrek Lee is paired with Travis Hafner and is serial numbered 252/500.

In what might be my favorite card of the package is Willson Contreras from Panini Leather & Lumber. This ultra thick dual jersey relic is numbered 200/349.

Topps began the Montgomery Club in 2018 for collectors and for the $200 annual membership a few sets were mailed out through the year. I almost pulled the trigger, but withheld because I had overspent my budget at the time of release. I considered diving in this year at the $250 membership price, but again held out. Here's what one of the sets looked like as you see this Ian Happ card.

A Javier Baez 1984 All Star insert blue parallel.

Not too often do I receive Javier Baez first Bowman cards from 2011 Bowman Draft in trades. For a time I was buying these cards in bulk for $0.18 on Sportlots...but that was about seven years ago.

And this Kris Bryant from 2019 Donruss is numbered /150.

What a great package of Cubs cards. Thanks, Tom. Another package arrived and it was a PWE with eight Cubs cards including a 2011 Bowman D.J. LeMahieu rookie card.

One Million Cubs Project Stats Wednesday's (12/17/2019) Cards: 309

Wednesday's (12/17/2019) Packages: 2

January's Cubs Count: 9,343

February's Cubs Count: 8,980

March's Cubs Count: 15,704

April's Cubs Count: 11,651

May's Cubs Count: 7,273

June's Cubs Count: 7,690

July's Cubs Count: 10,803

August's Cubs Count: 11,929

September's Cubs Count: 9,127

October's Cubs Count: 15,675

November's Cubs Count: 26,705

December's Cubs Count: 1,459

Total Trades/Donations: 325

Trade States of Origin: Arizona (6) Alabama (5)

Arkansas California (22)

Colorado (6) Connecticut (19)

Delaware (2)

Florida (13)

Georgia (3)

Idaho (3) Illinois (29) Indiana (8)

Iowa (2)

Kansas

Kentucky (2)

Louisiana Maryland (12) Massachusetts (12)

Michigan (4) Minnesota (5)

Mississippi

Missouri (5)

Nebraska (3)

Nevada (2)

New Hampshire (2) New Jersey (15)

New Mexico (4) New York (31) North Carolina (6)

North Dakota Ohio (19)

Oregon (3) Pennsylvania (9)

Rhode Island (2)

South Carolina (2)

South Dakota Tennessee (8) Texas (10)

Utah

Vermont (6)

Virginia (2) Washington (7)

Washington, DC

West Virginia (7) Wisconsin (12)

Countries of Origin

Canada (1)

Korea (3)


bottom of page