top of page

The Last Cubs Mailday of 2019

With a pair of packages that were received on New Year's Eve, my total count of Cubs baseball cards ends the year shy of my goal. The goal to reach by 2020 was 400,000 Cubs cards and it fell short with a total of 395,098 cards.

A pair of long-time trade partners sent the NYE packages. Glen in Connecticut sent another #NAFTA trade, and the other box came from Goalie in the Crease.

Goalie, from West Virginia, shipped a medium flat rate box that not only contained a box of Cubs baseball cards, but other cool Cubs memorabilia. Here's a cool Sammy Sosa item, and it's the first of its kind in my Cubs collection. I did acquire a Derek Jeter version in a collection I bought last year.

Speaking of Sosa, here's a bobblehead that is not in my collection.

And another new Cubs bobblehead. This one is Mark Prior.

He also put a box of Cubs cards inside. What a great package of Cubs stuff!

Glen sent some sweet Cubs goodies as well, such as this Ernie Banks manufactured relic card.

A Kris Bryant rookie card.

And a stack of Cubs cards.

A great way to end the year. Even though my goal of 400,000 Cubs cards fell short, it was a lot of fun. I bought an amazing Craigslist collection, met many new collectors online and in person, attended my first National, and hit up a few card shows throughout the year.

I am looking to reach 500,000 Cubs baseball cards by the end of 2020, and while I won't be heading out to Atlantic City to the National in the summer, it'll be an exciting year of Cubs activities. In just a couple weeks I'll be attending my sixth consecutive Cubs Convention. A month later will be my first trip out to Arizona for Spring Training. My tentative schedule has me taking in six baseball games. In June, my wife and I will take our annual European vacation centered around the Cubs/Cardinals series in London. Looking forward to another fun year in the hobby and Cubs fandom.

One Million Cubs Project Stats Tuesday (12/31/19) Cards: 328

Tuesday (12/31/19) Packages: 2

January's Cubs Count: 9,343

February's Cubs Count: 8,980

March's Cubs Count: 15,704

April's Cubs Count: 11,651

May's Cubs Count: 7,273

June's Cubs Count: 7,690

July's Cubs Count: 10,803

August's Cubs Count: 11,929

September's Cubs Count: 9,127

October's Cubs Count: 15,675

November's Cubs Count: 26,705

December's Cubs Count: 5,757

Total Trades/Donations: 335

Trade States of Origin: Arizona (6) Alabama (5)

Arkansas California (22)

Colorado (6) Connecticut (20)

Delaware (2)

Florida (13)

Georgia (3)

Idaho (3) Illinois (30) Indiana (8)

Iowa (2)

Kansas

Kentucky (2)

Louisiana Maryland (12) Massachusetts (13)

Michigan (5) Minnesota (5)

Mississippi

Missouri (5)

Nebraska (3)

Nevada (2)

New Hampshire (2) New Jersey (15)

New Mexico (4) New York (33) North Carolina (6)

North Dakota Ohio (19)

Oklahoma

Oregon (3) Pennsylvania (9)

Rhode Island (2)

South Carolina (2)

South Dakota Tennessee (8) Texas (10)

Utah

Vermont (6)

Virginia (2) Washington (7)

Washington, DC

West Virginia (8) Wisconsin (12)

Countries of Origin

Canada (1)

Korea (3)


bottom of page