top of page

Cubs Convention 2020 Brings In More Than 200 Baseball Cards

Cubs Convention 2020 is in the books, and a full recap is forthcoming. I'll save most of the convention details for that post. Baseball cards are not top of mind when visiting the Cubs Convention.

First, there are not many cards for sale. A handful of vendors sell team sets or singles of players that will be in attendance and signing autographs. These cards are typically overpriced than what you can find anywhere else. One dollar per card is the typical price...even for a 1987 Topps Bob Dernier baseball card.

One stop that can add Cubs baseball cards at good prices are the minor league affiliates room. Unfortunately, I struck out there. It wasn't until Sunday when I visited the minor league teams. The Eugene Emeralds had sold out of their 2019 team sets before the convention. They did have uncut poster sheets, but with all of my travel (cab, train, and car), posters get mangled. Myrtle Beach sold out of their team sets on day one, and I did not see any merchandise for the South Bend Cubs, Tennessee Smokies, or Iowa Cubs. I did receive a consolation, and picked up a few Pelicans coozies (they were free).

Once A Cub (@OACCards on Twitter) was in attendance, and was able to run into him on Friday night in the lobby. My group was between the Kerry Wood fundraiser, and heading over to Lizzie McNeil's pub next door to the convention that is held in the Sheraton Hotel along the Chicago River. This was my first trip to Lizzie's in all the years I've been attending the convention and often confuse the name and call it Lizzie McGuire's or Lizzie O'Neal's. I wanted to catch up with Once a Cub, and fortunately both he and I skipped Cubs Bingo on Saturday night and we were able to spend a bunch of time talking in the lobby on Saturday night. He even offered up an Adbert Alzolay card to add to the count.

Saturday night has become a favorite of mine (skipping Bingo) hanging out in the hotel lobby. My buddy Matt from Iowa came down and he and I always spend a lot of time hanging out in the lobby at every convention waiting for Cubs players to walk through. One of Matt's favorite Cubs of all time was Darwin Barney. Barney made it back to this year's convention, and Matt added a trio of Barney cards for the project.

What I love about Cubs Convention is the interactions with people. When I attended my first Cubs Convention in 2015, I knew a half dozen people in attendance. Over the years I've met dozens upon dozens of people that I can call friends. Mary was one of the first new Cubs friends I met back at that first convention when I went to Woody's Winter Warmup. My friend Dave, who I go to the convention with, met Mary at the second Woody's Winter Warmup event and they stayed in contact. She is also friends with Stu from Club 400, and that's how we were introduced to the Club 400 family.

Mary said she had a box of Cubs cards to give me, and she sure did. The box blew me away. A box, a couple small books, and a baggie with the 1994 Cubs Photo Series cards that I believe were a stadium giveaway.

The photo cards include: Glenallen Hill, a couple Ryne Sandberg, The Sandberg Game, manager Tom Trebelhorn, Sammy Sosa, Shawon Dunston, announcer Jack Brickhouse, Jose Guzman, Ernie Banks, Randy Myers, Rick Wilkins, 1984 National League East Champions, and broadcaster Steve Stone wearing a sweet ugly sweater.

Inside the box were many more Cubs cards that were not part of my collection. Like a complete unopened 1992 Old Style Cubs baseball card set. It includes 28 cards, and I'm torn whether or not to open it. At this time, I'm going to keep it intact, and if I need to look at the individual cards, I'll check Google. The set includes: Cap Anson, Grover Cleveland Alexander, Ernie Banks, Mordecai Brown, Phil Cavarretta, Frank Chance, Kiki Cuyler, Johnny Evers, Charlie Grimm, Stan Hack, Gabby Hartnett, Billy Herman, Rogers Hornsby, Ken Hubbs, Randy Hundley, Fergie Jenkins, Bill Lee, Andy Pafko, Rick Reuschel, Charlie Root, Ron Santo, Hank Sauer, Riggs Stephenson, Bruce Sutter, Joe Tinker, Hippo Vaughn, Billy Williams, and Hack Wilson.

The 1992 Marathon Oil Cubs set. This is another set that is new to my collection, and the Doug Strange card is even signed. It's also neat seeing new Hector Villanueva cards.

More new cards, and this is a four-card set from 1993. It's the Rolaids All-Time Relief Pitcher Cubs set that includes Randy Myers, Mitch Williams, Lee Smith, and Bruce Sutter.

And an unopened 1993 Stadium Club Premiere Edition Cubs team set.

What a great group of cards and thanks so much! Stay tuned for more posts relating to the Cubs Convention throughout the week.


bottom of page